Gaijin Smash

Game On

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on January 6, 2009

When I have time, sometimes I like to pop into a Japanese arcade for a few rounds of video games. As some of you may have figured out already, I’m a big Street Fighter fan. Any adult male my age is at least casually familiar with Street Fighter II, the game that re-defined the arcade experience. But while most people played a few rounds and moved on, I’m of the select group that really dedicated ourselves to the game. Like, I used to go to tournaments and what not.
I had mostly hung up my fighting hat a few years ago, but this past summer Street Fighter IV was released in Japanese arcades. Those of you not familiar with the franchise may not know just how big of an event this was, so let me try and explain it for you. Street Fighter II was the game that hooked us all. That game was released in 1991. That was seventeen years ago. Seventeen years ago, George Bush Sr. invaded Iraq for the first time. Seventeen years ago, Rodney King was asking why can’t we all just get along. Many of you reading hadn’t even been born yet. In that time, we got three brand new Star Wars movies, Rocky, Rambo, The Terminator, John McClane, and Indy Jones have come back to the big screen, and Bryan Adams was The Shitβ„’. And yet numerically, Street Fighter has only gone from II to IV.


While arcades in America are a dying breed, in Japan they’re still alive and kicking. They are usually nothing special – a room filled with video games, guys who play them far too much, and enough cigarette smoke to bring about instantaneous lung cancer. They’re usually nothing special. But its always the exception to the rule that gets you, isn’t it?
***
I was in an arcade one day that’s not too far from my home. While the proximity is nice, I don’t often go – it’s also home to some of the best ass-kickers in the world, and my ego can only take so much damage. But I was there one day getting some SFIV games in, and as I was playing I noticed a group of high school boys wandering around. I couldn’t help but to notice one in particular – he looked terribly familiar, as if I’d seen him before. As I was looking at him, I caught him also staring at me. And not just the “hey look it’s a gaijin!” stare we foreigners usually get, but the “Hey, I know this guy!” look that I was also shooting at him. At pretty much the same time, we both came to realize how we knew each other.
I was looking at Watson.
Yes, that Watson. The boy who since his ichinensei days had made it his personal mission to grab my dick, to not waste the one chance he may have in his entire life to grab the dick of a black man and confirm whether or not the stereotype is true with his own hands. His curiosity was superseded only by his diligence, as not a day went by where he didn’t try to molest me in one way or another. He’d graduated during my last year on the job, but here he was in my life again.
It was a moment I can’t really describe. Imagine He-Man, some 50 years later, old and decrepit in a nursing home, and as he wanders the halls looking for the shuffleboard game he runs into Skeletor, looking as evil and bony as ever. It was kind of like that.
He hadn’t really changed at all. He looked the same as he did two years ago, just proportionally bigger. He was attending a high school in the city. He was hanging out with his friends and we couldn’t talk long, but he seemed to be doing well. And no, he didn’t try to grab my junk for old times sake or anything like that. People grow up and change I guess, and Watson is no exception.
Although the dick-grabbing is what I’m most going to remember about him, even 50 years later when Street Fighter VI finally comes out.
***
Speaking of molesters…
I was in the same arcade I ran into Watson at a few weeks later. I was playing, and actually had a modest win streak. Although this is a stereotype, most Gaijin who wonder into an arcade are tourists, or even if they aren’t they don’t have the skills to keep up with these fighting game monsters. While I know I’m not a top-level player, I’d like to think I have decent skills at least, and can stomp anyone who isn’t on the top of their game. So that’s kind of rare in Japan, and occasionally I get people peering around the cabinet and being moderately surprised to see a foreigner administering ass-kickings.
There was a guy standing next to me, maybe in his 40’s or so, watching me play. After beating one guy, the guy next to me came in a little closer and spoke. “Oh! Very good job!” he says in broken Engrish and gives me a handshake. Well, that’s not so bad. Japanese arcades aren’t exactly cozy dens of friendliness, so this could even be a good thing.
See, it’s always the escalation that gets you.
I get linked up to a new challenger. Looking at his stats, this guy is pretty good. It’s going to be a tough fight, and I’ll need to concentrate and focus in order to compete properly. The match starts, and as expected, my opponent is a difficult match-up. I’m doing fairly well though…but that all changes as I feel something behind me.
Is it…yep, it is. Old dude is now rubbing on my head. Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve gotten felt up randomly here in Japan, I was starting to forget all about it.
The normal response when some old dude is feeling you up, I believe, is to run, deck him square in the jaw, or perhaps a nice combo of both. But I was in the middle of a SFIV match! I couldn’t get up off the machine, and taking my attention away from the match could have been disastrous.
Yes, Street Fighter is serious business, folks.
I tried my best to shoo him away and move my head out of the way of his gently caressing hands (dodgehead?) while keeping my attention on the match. Needless to say, my concentration had been broken pretty fucking hardcore, and I lost the first round. But I’ll be okay, right? I shooed the old guy away, so just re-group in round 2 and make my comeback like LL Cool J.
Again, it’s always the escalation.
Old dude comes back in the middle of round 2. And now…he’s feeling up my tits! Ok, I don’t have tits, but he’s got himself a nice handful of my manly chest. I know Japan has a big problem with groping and all, but I’m pretty far removed from a young Japanese girl. The head thing maybe, maybe I can understand, but my chest? Why would…no…no no no, scratch that, I don’t wanna know.
At this point, any hope for winning the match is just lost. I’m thoroughly freaked out now. I shoo the old guy away again but I can still sense him hovering nearby. He’d gone from stroking my hair to feeling up my tits. I’m not a woman, so I don’t fully understand the process of getting violated, but the rules of escalation dictate that there was only really one more area he could have gone for – the Golden Zone, and I’ll be damned if I was going to let that happen. I lost the match, grabbed my player card, and bailed the hell out of there.
Old guy is, of course, looming in the area. “Oh, too bad you lost,” he says in Japanese. “Yeah, my opponent was really tough!” I say as I continue to speedball my way out of the arcade. Maybe I could have put up a better fight if you weren’t fondling me half the damn time. Is there no place I can go in Japan without getting felt up? And why can’t the 18-40 year old women of this nation have the same interest in me that young boys and old men do? Why am I asking myself this question yet again? I refuse to accept that this is my fate.
It’s been a long time since I’ve had to say this…but I’m not making this stuff up, swear to goodness.
***
It’s pretty common knowledge that girls and video games don’t exactly mix.
That’s a pretty broad stereotype of course, and as is the case with many stereotypes, it’s often off the mark. Girls do like video games to some extent. Mostly stuff like Animal Crossing or Wii Sports or Barbie’s Horseback Adventures, or The View: The Game. What the fuck ever women play. But they’re not really suited to the beat-em-up/shoot-em-up/kill-everything-that-moves games that we men love.
Again, I realize there are exceptions. But if you step into an arcade in Japan, 95% of the people there will be guys. 4% may be girls playing the Beatmania games or UFO catchers, or perhaps just accompanying their boyfriends. 1% may actually be there to play games.
So when we guys see a girl in an arcade, much less playing a fighting game, it’s kind of a rare sight to behold. Sort of like the magic of seeing Jordan, Bird, and Johnson together on the original basketball Dream Team. Half the time, we have to actively restrain ourselves from proposing to her on the spot; or if not marriage, at least offering to engage in some sweaty awkward sex while discussing the best ways for Ryu to combo into his super hadouken fireball.
One day, I was out drinking with some friends. Its sort of a semi-weekly event, and the venue we choose just happens to be located above an arcade. …We’re all gamer nerds, bite me.
I got a phone call, and as the place was crowded and noisy, I left to go outside and take the call. As I was coming back and passing through the arcade, I noticed a girl playing Street Fighter IV. I figured she was a girl because of the pink frilly dress. This was such an eyesore, such a “Find The Leprechaun” moment for me, that I just had to circle around to get a better look at this girl gamer. Which, unfortunately, I did.
In the words of the great Austin Powers…”It’s a man, baby!”
Yep. The girl in the pink frilly dress…was actually some middle aged dude, in a pink frilly dress. Playing Street Fighter. And using E.Honda, no less.

I knew that people weren’t going to believe me when I told them, so I had the good sense to take a picture.

Upon taking a closer look, I saw that his player name was “Cross-Dressing E.Honda Player”. Well, if nothing else, it’s accurate…
Okay, so you’re a middle aged Japanese dude. Sure. Who likes to wear pink dresses. That’s far out there, but whatever gets you your kicks, man. And you like to play Street Fighter. Yeah, it’s a great game. But what I can’t figure out for the life of me is – why E.Honda? I always figured cross-dressers would go for Chun-Li, or I dunno, maybe even Zangief, but Honda? I’m going to guess that this is also something I just don’t want to know.
I feel bad for the guys playing next to him. I mean, I completely lost my shit when some old dude came and felt up on me, but I can’t even fathom trying to play seriously when there’s some middle aged guy in a pink frilly dress playing Honda next to me.
It’s these moments of random, unthinkable circumstances coming together to form incredible WTF situations, that really makes life worth living, I think.

52 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jenna said, on January 8, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Wowwww. I wonder if crossdressing E. Honda lost a bet or something.

  2. Kaz said, on January 8, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Yo, Az, you ever play on GGPO? Connection from Japan to America is probably pretty crazy, but hey, you could get some matches in with American players too once in a while.

  3. Nakamura Yoshiro said, on January 8, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Wow…that’s all I can think of to say…I’m literally in shock…and yes, I’m old enough to remember when SFII came out…I think I still have it in storage…

  4. Forrest said, on January 8, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    You Rock! Thanks for thinking to take a pic! lol
    Your blog wouldn’t let me post a comment on here when you first posted this story. hope that is all fixed now.

  5. NeN said, on January 8, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    It could have been worse. It could have been that guy from Street F*cker.
    You did make sure it wasn’t the same guy who groped you, right?

  6. Laura Black said, on January 8, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    I’m guessing that the oddity with the guy in the pink frilly dress was that is was a guy in JAPAN in a pink frilly dress.
    After all, you are from San Francisco, right? So presumably you don’t think twice about cross dressers/ transgenders. I know I don’t bat an eye when I pass one on Powell or some such street.
    Or have you truly lost touch with your inner San Francisican? Shame, Az. Shame. πŸ˜‰

  7. connie said, on January 8, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    heh, i played some sfii when i was a kid. i also played some mortal kombat on the original!gameboy, and also mkii on snes.
    haven’t played any games like those in years, though… the closest i’ve gotten to a fighting game lately is ff dissidia, haha. πŸ˜›
    still, it’s funny how much curious attention a 20-something girl with a psp gets in public.

  8. T said, on January 8, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    I thought you were just pointing out a chick in an arcade and how rare that is. Or at least pointing out her silly outfit…I wish I could feel that free to go out looking like that!

  9. Justanothermom said, on January 8, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Ms. Swan says, “She looka like a man!”

  10. Relja Dereta said, on January 9, 2009 at 3:13 am

    So there’s like a card system that keeps track of your rank? Nice. Is it used in any other way? (like, I don’t know, if there’s a gaming competition or something, you can get in only if you have a certain number of points or something like that…?)
    They should make a “handicapped” stats system for you, like “prone to molestation by little boys and creepy older guys” and thus give you extra points for stuff like “didn’t give up even while being molested” πŸ™‚

  11. raye said, on January 9, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Hey Az!
    I’m a female and I LOVE kill em’, shoot em’ up type games. I’m a HUGE fan of the grand theft auto franchise and own most of the games and beat them. People would never know though, seeing that I like to do girly things (getting hair done, going shopping, etc…) too.
    LOL, I was seven when Street Fighter II came out but that didn’t stop me getting the game. At that age, I could never beat the game in single player mode. Could never get past Sagat…
    Anyways, being felt up by an old dude *shudder* Sorry Az, hope your not scarred 4 life.

  12. code monkey said, on January 9, 2009 at 7:35 am

    girls from back at home actually do well on Warcraft III and MMORPGs so girls and video games ain’t that weird.
    But yes due in a pink frilly dress takes the cake. One out of three–nothing special, two out of three–uh, ok. But all?

  13. Anonymous said, on January 9, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Don’t those arcades have attendants?
    Can’t they watch out for patrons being molested?!
    Crazy!

  14. Anonymous said, on January 9, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Don’t those arcades have attendants?
    Can’t they watch out for patrons being molested?!
    Crazy!

  15. Akas said, on January 9, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Oh, connie, you’re playing dissidia too? We should meet up on xlink (if you have it) and play :).
    Az, although I’ve gone to japan and their arcades, I unfortunately don’t have too many crazy arcade stories (I’m a fighting and Bemani person myself, and when I went my fighting game of choice (Guilty Gear) wasn’t that popular). However, I have a story that *might* top yours.
    It was my second or third anime convention in college, and I hadn’t gotten too much sleep over the weekend. Saturday night, after the big dance was over and people drifted off to bed, I was dead tired. I had to wait for my friend to get back into the room, though, so I was sitting by a random pillar of the hotel, halfway asleep.
    But as I was drifting off to sleep, a soothing sensation started to pass over me. My shoulders were relaxed and I was about to lay there when I snapped awake and turned around. Standing behind me was another guy, someone who looked pretty nerdy and I had seen on the dance floor (and by default had danced with…along with the entire rest of the room).
    That’s not the worst part, though. I saw that my shirt had been lifted up, and that he’d been massaging me skin-to-skin. I still remember him saying “Hey there, how you doing?” and smiling, flirting with me in a very awkward fashion.
    Making excuses as quickly as possible, I got the hell out of there and learned my lesson. From then on, I forced myself to stay awake until I could collapse in a hotel room.
    So America is still pretty effin’ weird, if you ask me -_-.

  16. Ivan the Terrible said, on January 9, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    To be fair, there may not have been a move from Street Fighter II to III and IV very quickly, but as I recall they had a habit of releasing various ‘Super Turbo Ultra Deluxe Maximum Street Fighter II +1’ variations without the sack to ever go on and make it ‘III’. After awhile it really started to piss me off.
    And the molesting old man may have been an insidious trick on the part of your opponent. ‘Hey Grandpa, could you come to the arcade with me and feel up my opponents so I can get a good win streak going?’ sort of thing. It’s actually pretty brilliant.

  17. Alcibiades said, on January 9, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    A student with a history of attempted dick-grabs…
    A man who felt you up…
    Must be some sort of gay arcade meeting place. If it’s 95% male, the pick-up artists must feel they have a good chance of scoring.

  18. Spike said, on January 10, 2009 at 4:24 am

    EPIC!! Hahah – That picture is priceless. I can only imagine the shock when you found out that it was a man, and playing E Honda. I was laughing so hard when i read that. Also That TV show previously mentioned in the last entry about comedians getting slapped in the ass is hilarious. I watch the dubbed versions on too on youtube.
    Thanks For Making my Day AZ!!

  19. Anonymous said, on January 10, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Street Fighter VI?
    Now that’s just too optimistic.
    It’s more like Street Fighter V 1/2, amirite?
    Aha… haha… ha…. Anyway, that joke made me laugh quite hard. Well done. I would hadoken any molesters, not the fireball, mind you, but with the striking motion using two palms to launch the opponent/molester away from you.

  20. Anonymous said, on January 10, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Street Fighter VI?
    Now that’s just too optimistic.
    It’s more like Street Fighter V 1/2, amirite?
    Aha… haha… ha…. Anyway, that joke made me laugh quite hard. Well done. I would hadoken any molesters, not the fireball, mind you, but with the striking motion using two palms to launch the opponent/molester away from you.

  21. Jonadab the Unsightly One said, on January 10, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Why E. Honda? Why *not* E. Honda? A lot of players of those sorts of games become permanently attached to the first character they learn to play effectively. If the first two special moves they learn to invoke consistently at the right times are the inverted kick and the flying kick, they’re probably going to be playing as Guile a lot, becoming comfortable with the rest of his moves, etc. OTOH, if the first special they learn is the thousand-hand slap, and the guys you’re playing with haven’t learned an effective counter for it yet… you start playing as that character, and pretty soon you know even more of his moves, and… he’s your character from then on, simple as that.
    Playing E. Honda is not nearly as weird as wearing that outfit to the arcade. I mean, going to the arcade of all places in a frilly dress like that would be pretty weird even for a female. Most girls would probably feel pretty weird about going into an arcade dressed like that even if they had a particular reason to *be* dressed like that (e.g., half an hour to kill before going to a the concert hall across the street). Specifically dressing like that for the express purpose of going to the arcade is just plain out there, and then add on the fact that it’s actually a dude inside… For my money that’s MUCH more bizarre than playing E. Honda.

  22. Vidgmchtr said, on January 10, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    It’d be hilarious if that guy in the dress was the same guy who molested you before. πŸ˜„

  23. Duamuteffe said, on January 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    “That’s a pretty broad stereotype of course, and as is the case with many stereotypes, it’s often off the mark. Girls do like video games to some extent. Mostly stuff like Animal Crossing or Wii Sports or Barbie’s Horseback Adventures, or The View: The Game. What the fuck ever women play. But they’re not really suited to the beat-em-up/shoot-em-up/kill-everything-that-moves games that we men love.”
    Just to point out that there are always exceptions, I met my husband at an all night Quake LAN party with he and his fellow university geeks, back in what I believe is known as “the day.”

  24. Neil said, on January 11, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    …And I read this right after finishing up my Japan study abroad forms.
    D:

  25. Duralsilver said, on January 11, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I know what you mean about the rare female gamer. I met a well-endowed Asian girl in San Fran named April. When I wasn’t busy trying not to stare at her large chest, I noticed that she was very cute.
    But that was just a facade.
    She was a fierce Tekken 5 player and proved it by crushing my pride using my character Kazuya.
    Life is cruel.

  26. Anonymous said, on January 12, 2009 at 3:08 am

    um sure girls who play video games only play games like animal crossing and stuff. <__<
    dream on man. πŸ˜›

  27. Anonymous said, on January 12, 2009 at 3:08 am

    um sure girls who play video games only play games like animal crossing and stuff. <__<
    dream on man. πŸ˜›

  28. Joe said, on January 12, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    So, Az, do these things count as a Nihonjin Smash? πŸ™‚
    I don’t know what I’d do if some old gay Japanese guy started feeling me up in an arcade, but if I was playing Street Fighter, I can only imagine wanting to do a shoryuken and escape.
    Yeah, Ryu was always my favorite character to play as, though Chun Li was hot. And I never did quite get over that “spinning bird kick!”

  29. ichigo said, on January 12, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I’m a girl and can truthfully say animal crossing sucks (from the maybe two hours that IO played it, before I switched to Mario world) and …Barbie’s Horseback Adventures….seriously now?
    As for beat-em-up/shoot-em-up/kill-everything-that-moves games- they’re some of my favourites. And add in creepiness and they are my favourites (except I always keep a place in my heart for the final fantasy franchise).
    I don’t think geeky females (or geeky people in general) are as much a commodity as they used to be, which makes sense considering the way our society is changing.

  30. Mike said, on January 12, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    cool, the comments are working now. i got to get around to making a blog. There is allot of shit Id like to rate, like the best zoos in asia, the best places to stay, the real deal about Japan, etc. I been to just about every asian country here. Japan is at the bottom of the list, right above Korea.
    You know, these cross dressers seem to like to come out during Shogatsu and other holidays. I seen allot of them on the train, usually some old dude sporting his dress, wig, lipstick and bra. The thing is, Japanese pay them no mind. If he was in the states, people would be laughing their ass off. But the fucked up thing about Japan is that they stare, giggle, gossip and are a pain in the ass when foriegners are on the train. Its perfectly normal to have some freak in a dress around you, but the gaijin is something alltogether different. The shit gets old, one of the reasons I hate this place.

  31. Vidgirl said, on January 13, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I had to comment on the New Years post…”Gaki no Tsukai” rocks! I’ve been watching it for a few years here in the States via YouTube and subtitles. Some episodes have no subs, but most are pretty easy to follow regardless. I love the “Silent Library” skits where they all draw cards and one poor guy gets some form of torture inflicted upon him. The one where they go to high school is pretty great too (English lesson…LOL!).
    On a side note, I must be one of those girls who loves any type of video game (except Duck Hunt…the damn calibration was always off!). Being a child of the 80’s, how can I not…I remember playing Golden Axe for hours! I also had a younger brother, so nothing gave me more satisfaction than kicking his ass in a fighting game…Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, Marvel vs. Capcom, Darkstalkers … didn’t matter as long as I beat him. Still play an array of games today…
    Good job remembering to take a picture! You should have taken one of molester guy too and told him you always take a picture before you kill someone. What a creep! At least cross dressing E. Honda wasn’t feeling people up at the time…he seems to be the lesser of two evils.

  32. Kyuutatsu said, on January 13, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I’m a little sad that the gaming stereotype that girls don’t like fighting games or First person shooters is around. I’m a big fan of both, fighting games more than the other, their the sorta thing I enjoy playing (nice stress relief). Still I suppose stereotypes will always exist. Though that middle aged guy dressed in the pink dress is…creepy if nothing short of…extremely weird

  33. Misty said, on January 14, 2009 at 3:04 am

    Heeeey, I’m a girl and I love games. And not girly OMG Barbie either. Over my dead body would I play some shit game like Barbie. I remember being about 8 or 9 and seeing a commercial for some awful Barbie game where the only objective was to ride this godawful looking pink horse. Thats all you did in that game, just ride around the pink horse. I remember thinking at the time “Wha? Whos gonna play some awful game like that?!”. I’m definitly not your average girl gamer. I can actually hand out some pretty good ass whoopings to guys even. I guess you can say I’m above average, but thats prolly going too far.
    Of course, I mean above average in AMERICA. I can’t compete with Asia.

  34. Zrrrh said, on January 14, 2009 at 5:20 am

    I have actually seen a middle aged man in that exact dress in a Lotteria in Harajuku. Either that same man gets around, or Japan is spearheading one freakin’ bizarre new trend.

  35. Curtis said, on January 14, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Do you normally play at A-cho or Monte? I remember seeing you on your way out of A-cho in the summer, but knowing all the Az spottings you deal with, I thought I’d just let you be on your way. I lived way out in the countryside last year, so I didn’t make it into Kyoto often, but occasionally to Monte.
    This year I’m in Seoul with my fiancee until our wedding and the start of my grad school in the states at the end of summer. I’ve been getting my Tekken on with HelpMe and other Korean greats, but if I swing by Japan again before my return home (early August, maybe?), it’d be fun to [try to] rock Dhalsim in IV a bit if you have some time. Kyoto’s my favorite place in Japan, so if I visit Japan again I’ll probably be in your neck of the woods.
    Also, raged K-groove Japanese school girl and wave dashing references in the old articles were great. Don’t forget to show some love for the nerds!

  36. lulz said, on January 15, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    I know that it’s hellza satisfying to inform the guys tossing out homophobic slurs all match on xbox live that, yes, they just got beaten by a fag. Same thing with the crossdresser, I imagine.

  37. Nii said, on January 16, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Was this in Akihabara? It looks too spacious to be in the Taito game center or sega building.
    (Az’s Note: Osaka, dude.)

  38. pentence said, on January 17, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Wow that girl is totaly my girlfriend shes into the loli style and she is a gamer.Ya think i should hold onto this one Az?

  39. gaijinalways said, on January 20, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I game often too, but I’m more into Virtua Fighter, which is about the same for the slowness in bringing out new games. I can kick butt sometimes, but recently the younger guys into reflex moves keep kicking my ass (or beating me 3-2)!
    I tend to play tennis more especially doubles, which I enjoy as I used to play tennis in real life, but recently it’s mostly the virtual type only.

  40. Lucas said, on January 21, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Hah! You’re completely right about gaming girls.
    There’s just something about them that instantly attracts you.
    I got into fighting games BECAUSE OF A GIRL. Yes, you red that right.
    I remember meeting her, she was a huge fan of the KOF Series. So I told her: “I bet I can easily beat you”.
    I played the game and practiced so I could catch up with her, in the end I got really hooked up and now I really like fighting games.
    We sorta dated each other, but then I realized I was only attracted because of the gaming thing…

  41. maccaj said, on January 21, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Another girl gamer chiming in. I like strategy games more than kill’em games, but I think there’s a reason for that… guys would never let me *play* the d*** fighter games! Even my own cousins, “Nah, you’ll be bored.. okay, you can try it [three seconds later] see, you suck. I’ll put Mario in for you.” Why yes, yes I do suck at fighting games in the *first three seconds in which I’m holding the controller*. It’s not because I’m a girl, it’s because I need a few minutes to, yknow, *figure out what I’m doing*. And guys tend to be very impatient and forget that even they did not come from the womb knowing how to play Street Fighter et al.
    So, guy gamers, if you want more gamer girls, give us the controller, put it on single player, and *walk away* for a half hour or so. Give your target gamer girl a chance to figure out how the game works *without* you breathing down her neck and going “no, do it this way! No, that move sucks, you need to do the twelve button sequence, here, let me show you…”
    Come on. You guys know you’d brain any guy who tried to do that to you, *especially* when you’re still learning the game. Those kinds of guys are the ones who get exiled from their own gaming groups. You’re not being any more “helpful” when you do it to a girl. You’re being obnoxious, and we don’t like it any more than you do.
    */PSA*

  42. Tina said, on January 22, 2009 at 12:20 am

    … If this is the case, maybe I should go to Japan at some point. πŸ˜„ *a fairly hardcore female gamer who goes for RPGs, but isn’t adverse to button mashing hack and slash when the opportunity arises, and has just started playing RE4*

  43. Anonymous said, on January 22, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I’m a woman who’s always been into RPGs. I always thought role playing games (phantasy star, final fantasy, etc) were more popular with girls/women but maybe I had the wrong impression.

  44. Anonymous said, on January 22, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I’m a woman who’s always been into RPGs. I always thought role playing games (phantasy star, final fantasy, etc) were more popular with girls/women but maybe I had the wrong impression.

  45. Jamal said, on February 4, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Hey Az.
    I think the old man was either a plant, or old/addled enough to think you were a good luck charm. If it ever happens again, just tell him about the type of luck he’s trying to skim off of you. The Octopus should suffice.
    I wasn’t going to do it right away, but your tale is compelling me to dust off the SNES and plug it into my new TV (46″ LCD – the bills were all paid, so I splurged) and play some SF II/II Turbo.
    Until the component video cable for the PS2 arrives, Gran Tourismo 4 looks too fuzzy to bother with. (GT4 is the sole reason I finally caved and bought a P2 at the end of 2007.)

  46. Anonymous said, on February 9, 2009 at 9:41 am

    lol, the point of a stereotype is to take everything in a strictly general view, and rate it as such. So in a strictly general view, girls do not enjoy the kinds of games guys do most of the time. And I’m not biased. This is coming from a guy who’s girlfriend plays Zelda and Halo, and wears Transformers shirts. So I’m lucky is all. πŸ˜‰
    Anyyyyway, your stories are great, keep them coming!

  47. Anonymous said, on February 9, 2009 at 9:41 am

    lol, the point of a stereotype is to take everything in a strictly general view, and rate it as such. So in a strictly general view, girls do not enjoy the kinds of games guys do most of the time. And I’m not biased. This is coming from a guy who’s girlfriend plays Zelda and Halo, and wears Transformers shirts. So I’m lucky is all. πŸ˜‰
    Anyyyyway, your stories are great, keep them coming!

  48. Steeple333 said, on February 10, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    maccaj, THANK YOU. An addendum: we’re bored from fighters/shoot ’em ups because after harping on us every two seconds, you snatch the controllers back for at least two hours. You wonder why we’re bored? Because watching *someone else* play those games is boring as hell! Let us effing PLAY the damn games!
    This totally happened to me when playing SSB. I tried playing, they bitched at me, then played fifteen, ten-lives rounds. But years later, when my sister bought Melee, I started getting the hang of it and actually had fun playing with her. (She played Samus, I played Sheik/Zelda)
    Now I gotta go take up my brother’s offer of showing me how to play Halo.

  49. Anonymous said, on March 12, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I don’t get it. Weird dude feels you up and you run away from the arcade? It’s not like he was 90 and you might feel bad about decking him.
    Give em a line in the sand for chrissake.

  50. Anonymous said, on March 12, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I don’t get it. Weird dude feels you up and you run away from the arcade? It’s not like he was 90 and you might feel bad about decking him.
    Give em a line in the sand for chrissake.

  51. cheezewizz said, on March 18, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Sorry bro but i woulda layed out that old guy, and probably just asked that guy why the fuck he was wearing that outfit. I’m going to japan sometime but damn if some shit like that happens i’m definitely just going to spend the rest of my trip worrying about 90 year old man butt rape

  52. Tomoyo said, on April 3, 2009 at 3:55 am

    You sure the old molester wasn’t in league with your opponent? That’s a winning–if not absurdly dangerous–strategy.


Leave a Reply

