Gaijin Smash

Update 1.5.09

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on January 5, 2009

Happy New Year everyone!
Hope you had a fun and safe passing of 2008. I did as well – no parties or debauchery for this old man. I stayed home and watched TV. I know I go on about hating Japanese TV, but this is one show I actually look forward to. It’s called “Gaki no Tsukai”, and features Japanese comedians being put in ridiculous situations, and then getting smacked on the ass for laughing. Yep, it is every bit as insane as it sounds.


Anyway, there will be two regular updates this week. So check back tomorrow for a new entry.
…That’s really all I wanted to say. So…I will now entertain you with a song and dance perhaps? …What? You can’t see/hear me? Shame, it was a really good dance too.
On a more serious note though, I have found a job. Sorta. Like everything in life, it’s not a clear-cut situation, but at the very least I have a place willing to hire me. So I’ll go with that at the moment and continue to watch other developments.
Oh, and thank you to those who made suggestions for the next donation drive. To respond to two of the more common ones I read…
1. No, I do not have pictures of the (former) hole in the back of my leg. It did not occur to me that it might be something that people would want to see.
2. Content on my pre-teacher days is a good idea, but I’d like to save that material for something else.
So for the next donation drive, what I’m going to do is – more pictures! This time, I will post pictures from my old school teacher days. I avoided posting pictures up until now because I felt like it was an invasion of privacy. There were a lot of people reading, and everything was current, so it felt way too personal. Now, I feel like enough time has passed where its become more of a snapshot of a moment in history rather than an invasive peek into people’s personal lives. Most everyone involved during that time has moved on in some way or another – the students I taught have graduated and gone on to high school, teachers have been reassigned to different schools and areas, I of course have moved away and done my own thing. Plus, I imagine there are far less people reading now so as a whole it doesn’t feel as invasive anymore.
I may avoid pointing out some of the bigger superstars (such as Ms. Americanized and Ultimate Sweetness). But many of the pics I took I feel are a candid, real snapshot of Japanese school life, and I don’t mind sharing them now.
Though I’m not comfortable with talking about amounts, I have a goal and I will keep everyone posted on the percentage of the goal. Even if I don’t meet the goal, I will be sure to post up some pictures. With the money received from donations, I’d like to use it to help pay bills until I start getting paychecks. If there’s any surplus, perhaps I can buy a new suit or two for my new job, and if there’s a lot of surplus, perhaps I can put it towards taking my wife on a honeymoon in the spring (we haven’t gone on one yet).
As usual, donations are in no way mandatory and have no effect on the regular content of this site. I’ll still keep pounding out articles if you all still keep reading them. If you don’t want to, you don’t have to. Any and every donation made will be greatly appreciated.
To donate, please Paypal to azrael@outpostnine.com. Thank you.

Comments Off on Update 1.5.09

