Gaijin Smash

Sour Apples – Part VI

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on November 10, 2008

With the project finally up and running, I felt a small sense of relief. My supervisor was still riding on me pretty hard about everything in general, but I hoped that with the project underway, I could simply focus on that until January. I knew I was not going to renew my contract, but I hoped I could hold out in the job until then. I wasn’t really in a good position to quit, and 2 years at a job on a resume would look a lot better than a year and a half.
More than that though, financially I couldn’t afford to quit. My wedding ceremony was just two short months away – through careful budgeting and planning I figured I would barely be able to save up for the wedding. But things were very tight, and they would remain so even after the ceremony wrapped up. That’s if things had gone as planned. By now, I’m sure you all realize that’s never the case.
One day in mid-July, the president called me out for another private talk. There, he informed me that he would be cutting my salary for July, August, and September, because I “didn’t work hard enough” for the months of February, March, and April. I tried to protest the “didn’t work hard” claim again, but much like the last time, this wasn’t so much open for discussion as it was an official announcement. Although the portion of my check he was cutting was supposed to be $350 per month, my paycheck was ultimately $500 lighter. To date, I’m not sure how the numbers worked out – I think resident taxes may have kicked in at really bad timing, or perhaps I was getting taxed on my whole paycheck first and then the $350 was getting taken out afterwards. I’m not sure, but either way, my take-home pay was ultimately cut by $500.


When explaining the pay -cut, the president tried to blame it on our parent company. Though we weren’t directly a subsidiary per-se, this bigger company supplied us with the majority of our products, and as such they a measure of pull and influence. He tried saying that this is something that had been decided by the parent company. I figured he was full of shit – but I had no way of calling him on it, and even if I did it wouldn’t have really changed anything.
It’s hard to explain how I felt at this point. Anger would be expected, but more than that I just found the whole thing laughably pathetic. More than anything, I was amused by the timing of it all. The president knew I was getting married in September, he’d known for quite some time now. During the whole pay-cut talk he even asked me about how plans for the wedding ceremony were coming. I looked him in the eye and said that money was extremely tight and I didn’t know if I was going to be able to afford it anymore. He didn’t flinch. I think cutting an employee’s salary because you don’t think they’re working hard enough is plenty shitty as is, but if you’re going to do it, common decency might say to not do it in the months leading up to an expensive wedding he can barely afford.
I’d just like to re-state, for the record, that during the three month period in which I “didn’t work hard enough”, the English Division missed no deadlines, our quality improved, and if one were to ask my co-workers Curly and Ms. Shocker, I don’t think they’d say I was dumping off my entire workload on them.
The situation was made even more frustrating at home. My wife was infuriated to hear the news – angry at the president of course, but also angry at me for not fighting back. I tried to explain to her that fighting would have done no good. Other people had tried to challenge the president on various issues before – he simply doesn’t listen, and then if you’ve rubbed him the wrong way he makes it a point to make your life more miserable. Even if I were to quit then and there, getting all angry and violent wouldn’t help my case – it’d only serve to justify his actions. I tried explaining that, but my wife saw it as weakness on my end and was annoyed with me. She took the whole incident almost personally, noting that we would be losing $1500 over the course of 3 months.
Unfortunately, there really was nothing I could do. My paycheck was getting cut, and that was the end of the story. The president had made up his mind, and nothing was going to convince him otherwise. And I was in no position to quit – even a reduced paycheck was better than none at all.
But when all was said and done, my paycheck was only marginally bigger than my wife’s, who is on an OL-salary (for those unfamiliar with Japanese office lingo, an “OL” is short for “Office Lady”, which is more or less a glorified secretary). Any motivation I might have had left for the job instantly flat-lined. I was miserable and being paid a basic clerical-work salary. Despite being in no position to quit, I dreamed of the day when I no longer had to work there, and resolved that the next incident to really tick me off would be the one to send me over the edge.
***
In the grand scheme of things, the incident that made me snap wasn’t that major at all. Certainly, there’d been worse up to that point, but it was simply the straw that broke the camel’s back.
It was the first week of August. Aside from the project from hell, I was still the English Division Director which meant I had plenty of other jobs to take care of. One such job was managing our outsource translators. When translation projects came down, first the supervisor and Small Wonder would discuss between the two of them how much we would do in-house and how much we would send out (in theory, I should have been able to input how much we could do in-house, but in reality this was decided for me). After the outsource translations were decided, they would inform me, and then I had to consult with the supervisor about which translators I wanted to do which work (which was pointless, seeing as how she knew little to nothing about our translators, and their abilities…). Once she signed off on my choices, I’d send an official translation request to them. To help our translators we send them free of charge copies of the catalogs where the actual items are listed – so they can see what they are translating. Once the translator has been decided, I notified the supervisor, who would then send out the appropriate catalogs to the translators.
Before the official process starts, I liked to keep in contact with the outsource staff just to get a feel for what they could do and when. Many of our outsource staff only did translation as a side-job, or they also took on other projects which made them temporarily unavailable. When translation projects were about to drop, I’d contact them and ask about their status, and how much they could do. They’d answer, and from there I’d look at who was available, the projects on the table, and try to think up a good match. When the projects actually dropped, I’d contact them again and tell them that, while not official, this particular project was on the table, would they be interested. If they were, I’d take that information to the supervisor to get her to sign off on that choice.
While I felt this method made things go more smoothly, I was often criticized for it, mainly because Small Wonder did things differently on the Chinese side. Rather than feel things out beforehand, she’d wait until everything was decided on our end, and then just contact the translators out of the blue and say “Here’s this project. Do it.” Much like every other time, I couldn’t quite explain to them that Chinese and English aren’t the same and what works for one language/division may not work for another.
So in this particular incident, I’d proceeded in my usual manner. The translators had expressed their desire to do the projects I’d offered, so I went to the supervisor and got her to sign off on those choices. I wrote an email to her asking her to please send the catalogs to the translators, knowing that she keeps busy and wanting to get the catalogs out to the translators as soon as possible. I then drafted up the official translation request and sent it out. I have to CC the supervisor and Small Wonder to the official mail, which I did. When the outsource translators reply to the official mail, they don’t always hit “Reply All” so usually the reply only comes to my mailbox.
I did this around Thursday. Monday was a national holiday, so when I came into work on Tuesday, I found several mails in my inbox from the outsource translators, wondering where the catalogs were. As most of them are based in Japan, had the catalogs been mailed by Thursday they certainly should have reached their destinations by now. But it was possible that the supervisor was just busy and didn’t have a chance to mail the catalogs, that has happened before. So I sent a mail to her simply stating that the outsource translators hadn’t gotten their catalogs yet and were asking about them.
A few minutes after I sent the mail, my supervisor came up to my desk. “Why are they asking about catalogs?” she asked. Turns out that she hadn’t sent them out yet. I referred to the email I sent her where I clearly asked her to send these catalogs to these translators. “But, that mail went out before the official mail did. And I haven’t seen any replies to the official mail, so I don’t know if they’ve even accepted the assignment or not.” I’d like to stress again here that my mail to her wasn’t “I think they might” or “in the case of acceptance” or anything like that, it was “please send the catalogs”, period. I pointed out to her that not all the translators think to hit “Reply All” when sending answers, so I had their confirmations in my inbox – but regardless, I’d asked her to send the catalogs back on Thursday. In a highly indignant tone, she again stresses that she doesn’t know anything – all she’s seen is me sending out the official requests and no replies. She asks me to forward everything I’ve gotten from the translators to her – again, a laughable request considering that the mail exchanges are mostly in English. But, I do so anyway. I’m highly annoyed at this point, so I merely open the mails and hit the forward button. Big mistake, because she took offense to that as well. “You just forwarded the mails with no translation or explanation of what they are and no greeting or anything? That’s pretty rude, don’t you think? That’s basic office etiquette, and you should know better than that. What are you doing anyway? Get your act together and do your job properly!” This nice little exchange took place right in the middle of the office, with everyone else present.
And that was the breaking point. Before this little spat, I’d been typing up an email to the president and supervisor noting that, because of my wedding ceremony and parents coming in September, I’d need to take a lot of time off. It wasn’t very hard to change that mail to “I plan to quit at the end of August.” I finished the mail, stored it in my drafts folder, and then at the end of the day, I sent it with no regrets. If anything, the feeling that washed over me was “why the hell didn’t you do this sooner?”
Now, I know I keep ending these entries with “the worst was yet to come”. You all probably figure that at this point, especially with me turning in my notice of resignation, that we’d finally come to the top of the mountain. Nope. As unbelievable as it is to say…well…you know the rest.

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SATAC said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:47 am

    And the epic saga continues… Man, reading this is like watching the Battle of Hoth. Outnumbered, outflanked, and even making a retreat is fraught with peril. Glad you’re out of this cesspool.

  2. Drew said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:49 am

    oh god man, tell us, TELL US! WE NEED TO KNOW! haha. Unbelievable story, awesome (I mean, I feel for you, but you have to admit, as a story it is unfolding with suspense and cliffhangers, excellent).
    Also, I’m surprised that your wife wanted you to fight back so vigourously. I worked in japan myself for a couple of years and most of my Japanese colleagues, when excessive work was shoved on them, simply shrugged and worked harder. Disputing or defending themselves wasn’t even considered.
    Bet my name will show up as ‘comment’

  3. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Wow man… why didn’t you quit sooner?

  4. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Wow man… why didn’t you quit sooner?

  5. Gman said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Holy Crap i am first. I swore i wouldn’t comment until i was first. I have been reading for a year now i caught up in like feburary or something and i’ve gotta say, You inspire me so much to try hard in japanese. Your stories your determination, your sense of humor. So many times i have been moved by your words. And for what you went through your boss will get his. I think some sort of karma exists. I am surprised at the fact no matter how hard you try it never goes as planned huh? But don’t worry man you will get yours and i think it will be worth it keep it up man Best wishes.

  6. Crackpot said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:57 am

    I’m amazed that work-related suicide isn’t through the roof in Japan. You’re a trooper.

  7. nunka said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:11 am

    The shit’s about the hit the fan and I’m just giddy.
    I think I’m a bad person, Az. Sorry. 😦

  8. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Crackpot, who said it isn’t? Japan does in fact have ridiculously high suicide rates…
    Part 6… man you’re story’s going to have more Episodes than Star Wars!
    Sorry you had to go through this man, I hope things are going better now.

  9. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Crackpot, who said it isn’t? Japan does in fact have ridiculously high suicide rates…
    Part 6… man you’re story’s going to have more Episodes than Star Wars!
    Sorry you had to go through this man, I hope things are going better now.

  10. Chesu said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:20 am

    You’ve already explained this all to me, but I’m still strangely anticipating the next part…

  11. Chief said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I’m amazed that you were able to remain cool and calm after the supervisor giving you such bullshit. You should’ve laid a gaijin smackdown on her, grab your coat, hang it over your shoulder, and walk out of there. Maybe not the smartest exit, but it sure would have been bad ass.
    I’m still amazed at how incompetent the supervisor and the president were. I think a shrewd and extremely ambitious person could take their jobs from them by exposing their incompetence and some other shrewd maneuvering. The president of the company is just an incredible dick being able to look you in the eye after having cut your pay and ask about your wedding. That’s a true business asshole right there.
    I sure hope things work out alright for you Az.
    Good luck.

  12. Artemis said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:58 am

    OK, now I know why Japan’s suicide rate is that high (aside from the fact that it’s ingrained in their history and culture and all).
    I’m glad you decided to quit after that; there’s only so much people can take. But kudos to you for keeping it civil..
    Seriously, Az, why don’t you try freelance writing?

  13. Jahed said, on November 10, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Dude, I hate that you have strung this thing out into 6 entries. I’m on the edge of my seat here!

  14. Danno said, on November 10, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Will this painful saga ever end…
    Dude. Go back to the States and teach Japanese or something. Why keep yourself in such a tenuous position? Stuck on the glamor and excitement of living abroad? It doesn’t make sense. In your case, staying in Japan seems like more trouble than it’s worth.

  15. Adamantyr said, on November 10, 2008 at 3:55 am

    I’ve been poorly treated at jobs before myself. Case in point…
    At my first job back in the mid 90’s, I worked for a TV station. I worked a graveyard shift, coming in to work at 3am in the morning. I was supposed to get off work by noon, but we rarely had anyone to take over until 2pm… this should have been a big clue to me that this was a lousy job, when 90% of our new hires didn’t come back the second night.
    I was making a lot of money on overtime, but I was miserable since I was essentially awake and doing stuff when everyone else was asleep, and had to sleep in the afternoon and evenings. The worst part was my boss gave me a pager, and he had NO problems with paging me at any hour of the day or night, weekends, and even demanding I return to work to fix things after I’d gotten home.
    After nearly two years of this, I was ready to quit, even if I didn’t have enough job, so I gave my two weeks notice. I noticed that I was scheduled to work the weekend AFTER my notice period, so I quietly corrected the schedule and removed my name.
    A bit later, the boss calls me into his office, where he proceeds to yell at me for being disloyal and disrespectful for not staying longer. He then demanded that I stay and work all weekend or he would call his lawyer and “sue” me. He then said I could take a few minutes to think about it.
    I’m proud to say that little demonstration didn’t make me cower. Instead I felt like a piece of molten iron cooling and hardening into something unbreakable. I quietly informed him that I needed no time, and that the answer was ‘no’. He made a big demonstration of grabbing the phone book as I left his office, to call his lawyer, which I thought was pretty childish. (One wonders why someone has to look up their “personal” lawyer in the phone book?)
    I had intended to wrap up some last bits of work before I left for the day, but the boss wasn’t done. He proceeded to lay out about three days of editing work and demanded it be done by the end of the day. I decided then and there that it would just be best to leave, so I did. He sputtered something about hoping I’d need a reference some day as I departed.
    Of course, he tried to withhold my final paycheck. I had expected that, so I filed a claim with the state Labor & Industries. They proceeded to lose my file for several months, as any government bureaucracy is wont to do, but it turned out he had several outstanding claims on him, so after a year I got my belated paycheck.
    And the final kicker to the story… several years later, I get a call from him out of the blue. Wheedling and polite, checking to see how I’m doing, saying how I was just one of the best employees he’d ever had. Even though I was unemployed at the time, I had no interest in picking up any hooks and I politely ended the call.
    I wish I could say that the TV station folded and he’s no longer out there cheating employees and advertisers alike (many FCC violations there), but cockroaches always survive…
    A few years ago, my sister-in-law was looking for IT work in the area. She saw an ad that sounded promising and only listed a phone number. When she looked up the number in a phone book search my old boss’s name came up, which my brother recognized and confirmed with me, so we managed to warn her off from even touching it.
    I hope your moment of sweet triumph and vindication comes soon, Az.

  16. DangeRuss said, on November 10, 2008 at 5:42 am

    No way man, I totally believe it when you say “the worst was yet to come”. Every time you say that, you back it up with a new entry that is much worse.
    These stories make my stomach hurt because I suffer from overactive sympathy. It’s hard reading about such shitty conditions for a good person.

  17. Nii said, on November 10, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Don’t mean to annoy you, but I’m curious how far your story will go. If you remember from your previous comments, we were mostly interested in how your settlement with your boss concluded, and whether or not you got the money in the end (since you stated he was acting illegally). I hope your story will continue until there, and if so, I look forward to it.

  18. Mayhem said, on November 10, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Man, I have one long fuse on my patience but I think even I would have been burning short by now. If anyone thinks to work in Japan, this is a perfect story to show them the harsh realities…

  19. code monkey said, on November 10, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Arbitrary.
    Insensitive.
    Stubborn.
    Apathetic.
    Pretentious.
    Vain.
    I’m running out of adjectives to describe your bosses here…

  20. Zantetsu said, on November 10, 2008 at 8:23 am

    “You just forwarded the mails with no translation or explanation of what they are and no greeting or anything? That’s pretty rude, don’t you think? That’s basic office etiquette, and you should know better than that. What are you doing anyway? Get your act together and do your job properly!”
    and a second after someone has the nerve to spit shit like that to me I’d more than snap, I’d do things that would shoot down her inflated ego/blatant hate towards me down her throat.
    Who the Hell cares about what she’ll think at this point? You’re going to quit and the rest of your fellow employees agree with you.

  21. Eclipse said, on November 10, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Personally, I hope you unleashed the unholy union of a combined UNR and Gaijin Smash. It could be called “The Ultimate Negro Smash” or “Unbridled Gaijin Rage”. Both easily over 9000. Come on man, regardless of which one, you know that just sounds awesome!

  22. Kalle said, on November 10, 2008 at 10:06 am

    For the record, you’re a good man for staying in there for as long as you did. Quitting was the only option, and I hope they will feel your absence for the remainder of the time that company remains on its feet — which I doubt will be for very long.
    For the record… what is the name of the company? I know this may be shit-slinging taken too far, but honestly, I now live in Kyoto, the exchange rate is lousy shit, and I’m desperately looking for work. I just wish I could save myself from this company, and reading your story, I really feel like I wanna know at least the initials of the company in question so I know to stay far, far away in case I end up being offered a position at the company.

  23. Kevin said, on November 10, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Is this supervisor racist or something? I notice that you have not said this directly, but it comes across that either she hates blacks, hates foreigners or hates men (you). Which is it?

  24. chrish said, on November 10, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I keep reading and I keep thinking, “Az is making this up. He’s pulling our legs with his fancy way of exaggerating things for the sake of the joke.”
    And then I think, “This stuff’s too insane to be made up. Az promised it was legit, and if we can’t trust Az after all these years, who can we trust?”
    And then my mouth hangs agape and my mind reels trying to take it all in again.

  25. AutumnFire said, on November 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

    “You just forwarded the mails with no translation or explanation of what they are and no greeting or anything? That’s pretty rude, don’t you think? That’s basic office etiquette, and you should know better than that. What are you doing anyway? Get your act together and do your job properly!”
    I’m afraid I would’ve snapped at that point and said loudly and firmly that Basic Office Etiquette was not being exhibited by her current behavior and that I was awaiting her to get HER act together and start behaving like a mature adult, and when she was ready to behave in a civilized and mature manner I would be pleased to discuss things with her. Until then, she would need to leave me alone so I could get some work done.
    Not done in Japanese business culture, I know. I can dream. Out of curiousity though, do you know if Japanese employees ever make a habit of documenting unsavory incidents with their employers for the purposes of having a written record for verification or possible lawsuits?

  26. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Sorry to mention “Fear and Trembling” again, but it just occurred to me, the main character did perform a gaijin smash of sorts in the end, by writing a book
    It was meant to be, I guess

  27. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Sorry to mention “Fear and Trembling” again, but it just occurred to me, the main character did perform a gaijin smash of sorts in the end, by writing a book
    It was meant to be, I guess

  28. Justanothermom said, on November 10, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Well, your girlfriend’s reaction sounds like she’s already somewhat Westernized, regardless whether she’s been to the States for any decent length of time or not. I’m glad to see that she loves you so much that she’s willing to support you they way she does.
    As far as the thing with the boss; I know this advice comes too late to help expedite things now, but you actually should have gone over his head immediately to the parent company (I actually didn’t know/realize there was a parent company before now) when he told you about the pay cut & why, to find out if they had in fact decided on the cut, and to confirm their reasoning for it. You should still contact them, because they might send you your back pay with interest to avoid a costly court case in which the government might fine them, on top of ordering your pay be reinstated & remitted to you with interest. Most governments do penalize companies heavily when they are forced to pursue them for labor/wage law violations, and it does take a very long time for these cases to conclude in court. You may also find the parent company confirms your suspicions that the president was full of baloney (the cheap stuff at that), and either give you a different reason for the cut, or confirm that no pay cut was ordered by them. Also, it may help bring some closure for you on this incident, which is an important step to allow moving on & leaving the dreadful affair in the past.
    Unfortunately, having a parent company involved changes my earlier prediction; as long as there is another company funnelling money into this company, there will be no shutting of doors. Much like a government agency will not shut down a department for poor performance, as long as they have money designated for that department to funnel in.
    If you haven’t already decided to, I think you should try for your 1 kyuu (hope I spelled that right?) and go into freelance translating while still in Japan. With your background, you should be able to land several freelance contracts quite easily, in spite of the fact that you are not Japanese – native or otherwise. In the meantime, advertise yourself for translating into Japanese with some companies that are still based in America, Britain, Australia and New Zealand. I’m sure they would jump at the chance to have someone actually living in the country, who is fluent in English, translating their materials into modern-day Japanese for their contemporary audiences.
    Finally, if you aren’t already working on it, you should start formatting the outline for your first book. You can sell a book via self-publishing, and your experiences, imagination and talent for writing lend to a best-selling novel. I’d say more on this, but I feel I’ve written a “novel” of my own at this point.

  29. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Sour Apples – Part XXXVI
    and as the giant mosquito-thing plunged its proboscis into my blood-covered gut and started laying eggs, its pearlescent wings swaying in the smoke-filled wind of what used to be Tokyo, I screamed, thinking ‘Holy shit this is it this is finally the worst thing that could have possibly happened to me shit shit shit.’
    But the worst was yet to come.

  30. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Sour Apples – Part XXXVI
    and as the giant mosquito-thing plunged its proboscis into my blood-covered gut and started laying eggs, its pearlescent wings swaying in the smoke-filled wind of what used to be Tokyo, I screamed, thinking ‘Holy shit this is it this is finally the worst thing that could have possibly happened to me shit shit shit.’
    But the worst was yet to come.

  31. Trenien said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Isn’t there some kind of law that prevents your boss to pull this kind of stunt with your salary in Japan? I’ve never faced such a situation when I worked there so obviously I don’t know. However I do know that if such a thing happened over here (Europe) I could drag his ass to court and sue him for quite a lot.
    And I’d win too.

  32. jown7676@hotmail.com said, on November 10, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Ya know, since you know enough about the company, why don’t you start up a similar company and run them out of business. After all you know how the American market works. You know how to treat people correctly. Why not give it a shot?

  33. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    `When the outsource translators reply to the official mail, they don’t always hit “Reply All” so usually the reply only comes to my mailbox.’
    It’s too late now, obviously, but for future reference, setting the Reply-To: header can solve this problem. If you set it to, say “az@foo.com, supervisorbitch@foo.com“, when people just hit ‘Reply’, it will go to both of you.
    Depending on what you’re using to send email, this may be anywhere between easy and impossible to actually do.

  34. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    `When the outsource translators reply to the official mail, they don’t always hit “Reply All” so usually the reply only comes to my mailbox.’
    It’s too late now, obviously, but for future reference, setting the Reply-To: header can solve this problem. If you set it to, say “az@foo.com, supervisorbitch@foo.com“, when people just hit ‘Reply’, it will go to both of you.
    Depending on what you’re using to send email, this may be anywhere between easy and impossible to actually do.

  35. Philip said, on November 10, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    What a bitch, Jesus, I knew a Japanese teacher like her, nothing we can do.

  36. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Trust me if you firebomb there building you will feel much much better.

  37. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Trust me if you firebomb there building you will feel much much better.

  38. Dashavoo said, on November 10, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I’m feeling angry just reading this, never mind how angry you must have felt living it!

  39. VanessaFromCanada said, on November 10, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Sounds like your supervisor was insecure about her lack of English skills and covering that up by being critical of you (so it looks like she is still relevant).
    You did the right thing by sticking it out and trying to work with the situation. At least you gave it a shot and can now feel that much more confident in your decision. Even though you left, you probably learned A LOT from this, and life experience is invaluable imo.
    Anyway, just keep your head up, I know you’ll be ok because look at your track record, you make your dreams come true =)

  40. shena said, on November 10, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    I believe that president is swindling your $1500 for his personal use. There’s no such thing as the practise of cutting down one’s payment MONTHS after the so-called “didn’t work hard enough” period. That’s just crap.
    As for that supervisor, she’s just plain and simply a bitchy bitch. She bitch about basic office ettiquette and yet she’s the one who obviously needs to undergo retraining.
    I’m glad you’ve quit that stressful job of yours. Good luck with everything. I had a lot of insight from reading your life stories.

  41. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Man, our company has a japanese branch. And while the people there are cool, some of the partner companies we work with in japan are just like that.
    While i feel your pain…
    OMG CONSECUTIVE UPDATES! I LOVE IT! feeed me entertaaaainment

  42. Anonymous said, on November 10, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Man, our company has a japanese branch. And while the people there are cool, some of the partner companies we work with in japan are just like that.
    While i feel your pain…
    OMG CONSECUTIVE UPDATES! I LOVE IT! feeed me entertaaaainment

  43. Tkyosam said, on November 10, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Oh come on dude! This website is called “Gaijin Smash!”, but it seems like you tried to use none of those awesome super powers we have been granted! Its like super man being able to fly, but decideds to take the bus everywhere instead…
    Dude, I know how you kept saying you had a wedding and everything coming up, but didn’t you think at the time that “You getting out of that shithole and finding another job with stable income” was more president, than having your wedding? Like come on bro.
    Of course you don’t wanna come off as a pity case (or maybe you do <.<), but you could have EASILY found a new job. Who gives a shit about a promotion and resume if at the time you need the money and flexibility?
    Sorry for me kinda bitchin’ at you. I am just angry reading that you had to go through all this shit.
    It’s like Mr. Tucker Max’s grandfather said:
    “A foul is a man who repeats his mistakes. A smart man, is a man who learns from his mistakes. A genius is a man who learns from other’s mistakes, so he does not have to make his own.”
    …or somethin along those lines…


Leave a Reply

