Gaijin Smash

Less Money, More Problems…Cont.

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on September 19, 2008

So its the eve of my wedding ceremony. My parents have come to Japan. …And I’m somewhat miffed. Why? I shall explain.
In the last “Less Money, More Problems” editorial, I believe I mentioned my former boss threatening to not pay me my final paycheck if I didn’t hand in two forms that I really didn’t need to hand in. I went to the Labor Bureau and asked if he could legally get away with that. The advisor I spoke to told me no, he couldn’t. He made a copy of the lawbooks where it says employers are not allowed to withhold paychecks from employees, and underlined the key phrase. The advisor suggested I email my former company telling them I wasn’t going to hand in the forms, that withholding my paycheck would be illegal, and to include a scanned copy of the page from the lawbook as evidence. I did exactly that. I never got a reply to that email, so I figured that perhaps, defeated, my former boss had known when to quit, and would pay me my final paycheck which I desperately NEED on the verge of getting married.
…Nope.
Today was payday. Or at least, it should have been. I checked my account twice, once in the morning and once in the afternoon. Nothing. I did not get paid for my final month of work.


Getting shafted out of money you rightfully and legally earned is infuriating enough, but especially in my case, when I don’t have any money to begin with, and was counting on that paycheck to pay my rent and bills…well…yeah, I’m sure you can all imagine how not pleased I might be.
I’m not sure if he thought I was wrong about the whole “not paying your workers” is illegal claim, or just thought that I was bluffing when I said I would go back to the Labor Bureau if I didn’t get my paycheck. I have no idea what he’s thinking. I know what I’m thinking though: It’s time to deliver the biggest Gaijin Smash since Perry opened up Japan with the big black gunships.
First, I’ve got to deal with the wedding ceremony tomorrow…um…in 18 hours. And hosting my parents, who’ve traveled 5000 miles across an ocean to be here. And my wife’s family who is being very kind and accommodating to everyone. And all the friends and acquaintances coming to the wedding and after party. But then next week…its time to fight.
Until I get my money, I’m royally screwed…but I can’t even see that right now. Before, I just wanted to quit the company and go my separate way in peace. Now, I’m determined to get the money he’s trying to cheat me out of, even if that means I have to bring down the whole damn company to do it.
To all those who are freaked out about the possibility of working in Japan; don’t worry, this is not the norm, not by a long shot. As I said before, any job will have co-workers or even bosses you don’t like, and perhaps some unfavorable conditions, but this job/company is way past extreme. As usual, I just seem to have special luck or something.
Don’t worry about me, I’m fine. I’m not worried about the possibility of not being able to pay rent this month or even the time/resource/energy drain that the upcoming legal fight may pose. Right now I’m just focused on the wedding. After the wedding is said and done (hopefully without any hitches!)…then its time to fight.

158 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Andres said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Go Az, don’t let that ass of a (ex-)boss get the best of you, he must be pretty brave to stand up against a big black scary gaijin. About the wedding: congratulations, I hope that your life turns for the better now that your getting married (well only the ceremony, you were legally married months ago)

  2. Kurai said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Hang in there Az, you’ve got our support!

  3. Yair said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:56 am

    If I were you. I would dress Extremely HipHop…say…Tupac. With the red bandana in the head, extra baggy jeans…a Scarface XXXL t-shirt, Shave Half you head. Like only half of it. Go with the Crazy Eyes, Black Leather Gloves, and a VERY VERY intimidating Angry look. And “demand” nicely your money. Tell him you wont sign anything and you need to get your money THAT DAY. Dress and Look like a killer…and give Serial Killer eyes…but be normal…request your money…intimidate him. If you dont sign that paper I bet you he will either way give bad reference about you. Saying you are lazy and quit because he made you work more. You got little to lose and $$$$ to gain….
    Just dont go Fight Club on his ass like in the movie…even if beating yourself up in front of him would be fucking crazy cool…jaja

  4. Jen said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:57 am

    That is ridiculous!
    You could sue the company though and make tons of money. Then you wouldn’t have to worry so much.
    Congratulations on the wedding, Az! :]
    I can’t wait to see pictures!

  5. Brian said, on September 19, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Give em hell!

  6. Bubba said, on September 19, 2008 at 11:23 am

    May I please say first Az, “long time reader, first time commentor. Love your blog.”
    Second. Gaijin smash their asses so hard their ancestor’s ashes feel the pain. As wonderful of a culture and spirit that the Japanese may possess, the concept of “Don’t start no shit, there won’t be no shit” is obviously lost on them.
    You as an educator (at least at heart) are particualarly posistioned to give a few of the fine sons and daughters of Nippon that education.
    Give em hell.

  7. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 11:42 am

    I hope this doesn’t gives you a “don’t hire this gaijin, he will give trouble to company” stamp from your boss to other companies. :S

  8. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 11:42 am

    I hope this doesn’t gives you a “don’t hire this gaijin, he will give trouble to company” stamp from your boss to other companies. :S

  9. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    “After the wedding is said and done (hopefully without any hitches!)…then its time to fight.”
    You have a noble cause, Az. You have my sword.

  10. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    “After the wedding is said and done (hopefully without any hitches!)…then its time to fight.”
    You have a noble cause, Az. You have my sword.

  11. Luke said, on September 19, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I don’t say this to minimize or slight the money problems, but just put them out of your mind for the next day or two and enjoy the wedding and having all your family close! You only wed once, so don’t let your boss being a cockmaster ruin it for you.
    Have a great day and mazel tov!

  12. Luke said, on September 19, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    For the next couple of days put the money problems out of your mind and enjoy your wedding and having all your friends and family with you. You only wed once, so don’t let your former boss being a cockmaster spoil it even in the slightest. You’re clearly in the right and things will turn out well.
    Have a great day and mazel tov!

  13. Adam said, on September 19, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Thousand years of pain, Az. Give them an epic corporate kancho.

  14. Keril said, on September 19, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    I’m pretty sure if you wanted to, you can summon all your readers and we will eat your boss. Level 3 Gaijin Summon?

  15. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    And you have my bow.

  16. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    And you have my bow.

  17. Jv said, on September 19, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    FINISH THEM!

  18. Polaryzed said, on September 19, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Dude, you GOTTA tell us what this guy did to you. Its like going to a strip club; you see it, smell it, maybe touch it, but other that that you know nothing else about it. C’mon man! You make it sound like he came to your house and boiled your pet bunny. I’m very interested to hear about this job from hell. SPILL IT! (After the wedding of course πŸ™‚ )

  19. Vanagib said, on September 19, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Hang on in there – Good luck with the battle

  20. Ariel said, on September 19, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Good luck getting you paycheck and have a great time at your wedding!

  21. Fluffles said, on September 19, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Best of luck, Az! We’re all behind you.

  22. Anonymous of /jp/ said, on September 19, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Charge that laser, Az, we’re cheering.

  23. Ashley said, on September 19, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    That’s horrendous… but tomorrow will be amazing, you won’t even be worrying about it.
    Congrats, and PICTURES!

  24. Johi said, on September 19, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    u kno if the offical way doesnt work u can still use the unoffical way. making damage that comes close to the money they took from u. eggs, stones, spray cans are always good for that. i mean u wont be richer..but u will feel better

  25. Nakamura Yoshiro said, on September 19, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    I hope everything goes well with the wedding!
    As for the boss…I say give him the hardest Gaijin Smash since the time that a African man became a samurai (and if I’m not mistaken, he was high ranked…it’s in some history books, but you have to look hard)!!! When you are done with him, just leave him in his puddle of urine and tears!!!
    Seriously though, I know everything will work out, but I hope that it doesn’t take too long. You have the legal system on your side.

  26. matt said, on September 19, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    As Brian said about “Gaijin Smash them so hard their ancestor’s ashes feel pain.” Just give them a lil more so that their children’s children’s children would also feel that shit! Good luck Az!

  27. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    “Give them nothing, but take from them…EVERYTHING!!”

  28. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    “Give them nothing, but take from them…EVERYTHING!!”

  29. Marecki said, on September 19, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Go kick his legal arse, man! For now, though… enjoy the wedding. Even though you two have already been married for a while it remains a special occasion.

  30. Rorshak (1313) said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    That’s some messed up stuff to be going through right before your wedding. Good luck with your fight against the company that won’t give you what’s rightfully your’s.
    I hope you have a great wedding.

  31. yaburu said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Don’t just give ’em the biggest Gaijin Smash in history, give ’em the RAGING DEMON SMASH!! Then just stand there for a few seconds and let the kanji “Ten” glow on your back as you look all bad-ass and shit.
    Either way, take what’s yours Az!

  32. Alex said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Hey Az just relax bro, tomorrow is when you need to stress. Just make sure you have a get-a-way car if you get cold feet so that you can escape from SSJ4 Bridezilla.
    On a serious note, have you heard from Moeko or seen her recently? We are all still touched by her and her story.

  33. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    My god, the lawyer’s will have a field day with this one. I believe your boss actually doesn’t believe that you are serious in getting your wages. You wouldn’t believe how many times this kind of actually happens, under wraps. Companies will screw people out of their last check, and the person will think they need a lawyer to get one back, they don’t even think to go the labor board.
    Anyway, good luck with that Az. It’s really pathetic that you have to go through legal means to get the money you earned.
    But, then again. Lawyers have their own mythical powers, similar to a gaijin smash, or so I’ve heard.

  34. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    My god, the lawyer’s will have a field day with this one. I believe your boss actually doesn’t believe that you are serious in getting your wages. You wouldn’t believe how many times this kind of actually happens, under wraps. Companies will screw people out of their last check, and the person will think they need a lawyer to get one back, they don’t even think to go the labor board.
    Anyway, good luck with that Az. It’s really pathetic that you have to go through legal means to get the money you earned.
    But, then again. Lawyers have their own mythical powers, similar to a gaijin smash, or so I’ve heard.

  35. mj said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Kekkon omedetou!

  36. Wayland said, on September 19, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    So your mantra in this fight is indeed “Gaijin Smash”. Nice. Go for it man. Go forth and conquer.

  37. Yan said, on September 19, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Congratulations on the wedding and the best of luck!

  38. Chiyoda said, on September 19, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I don’t really have anything witty to say, I’m just a general well wisher. I hope everything goes well! I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog and I’ll be cheering for you (sorry if I’m overly optimistic)
    Congrats on the wedding!

  39. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Holy mother of god. It’s wedding bells now. I’ve been a long-time reader since the stories were originally posted in Outpost Nine, and it’s one hell of a journey now, coming full circle.
    Congrats and good luck in the battle.
    Hell, if the Raiders are in the lead of the AFC West ahead of THE Chargers and the Chiefs, this shouldn’t be a biggie. πŸ˜›

  40. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Holy mother of god. It’s wedding bells now. I’ve been a long-time reader since the stories were originally posted in Outpost Nine, and it’s one hell of a journey now, coming full circle.
    Congrats and good luck in the battle.
    Hell, if the Raiders are in the lead of the AFC West ahead of THE Chargers and the Chiefs, this shouldn’t be a biggie. πŸ˜›

  41. feitclub said, on September 19, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    You know what he’s thinking. He’s thinking what all abusive asshole types are thinking: “I can do this and take advantage of Underling X here, because odds are he won’t go through the hassle of dealing with government agencies and legal avenues.” It’s not JUST because you’re a foreigner either – these types err on the side of asshole because for every employee who doesn’t make a fuss and walk away, they make a profit.
    If i were you, I’d take it one step further: inform him that you will go to the law AND the press/internet, ensuring that his wallet and his company’s reputation will take a hit. You know the importance of reputation to Japanese people.

  42. well said, on September 19, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    So in just a few short hours you are having your ceremony! I wish you and your wife all the best!
    Congratulations!

  43. Bilbo Baggins said, on September 19, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    …and my AXE!

  44. Highwind said, on September 19, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I’ve read other Japanese workplace horror stories, and even though I never really considered taking up a job there (expect for a brief phase where I thought I could somehow publish a manga, despite being a foreigner and not being able to draw worth anything), I’ve now cemented it.
    Anyways, Good luck, give ’em hell.

  45. code monkey said, on September 19, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Woo-hoo!
    I wouldn’t be surprised if you become more famous after this.
    Good luck on the battle field!

  46. jazzorion said, on September 19, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Congrats on the big day finally arriving! And don’t worry, you’ve got tons of angry unemployed people here in America supporting you! *gives black head nod of empowerment*

  47. Mel said, on September 19, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Go get ’em, tiger!
    Have fun at your wedding tomorrow.
    Enjoy it and forget about your work paycheck for at least a day.
    Then, fight for the money and find a job soon.
    Post pictures!

  48. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Holy crap Az! I’ve been reading since your school teacher days, and I’d just like to wish you good luck, on both your wedding AND money!

  49. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Holy crap Az! I’ve been reading since your school teacher days, and I’d just like to wish you good luck, on both your wedding AND money!

  50. Barry said, on September 19, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    There’s a reason why all the lawyer advertisements are on during the day in the States: unemployed folks have plenty of time to file lawsuits. Your former boss should wisen up before pissing off someone who just quit his job!

  51. Pickle Jello said, on September 19, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    …Does Japan have any good lawyers?
    Cause you could get your paycheck and more.

  52. Justanothermom said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Is this guy so thick in the head, that he doesn’t realize you come from the place that refined the lawsuit? I think England invented them, and in California we refined them to the point of it being the public motto: “Sue thy neighbor.”
    Remember also, the tough stuff only helps you grow & be a stronger, better person. Don’t back down, dude.

  53. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Congrats on the wedding!
    Good luck with the company, own them like a fat kid would at a candy store! πŸ˜€

  54. Anonymous said, on September 19, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Congrats on the wedding!
    Good luck with the company, own them like a fat kid would at a candy store! πŸ˜€

  55. Ryan said, on September 19, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Give ’em hell man! I want you to Gaijin Smash him so hard that another one of their Prime Ministers resigns.

  56. miss-username said, on September 19, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Congrats on the wedding!!
    Wish you luck with the ex-boss. If things don’t work out you could always “accidentally” type the company’s website. I’m pretty sure someone will take revenge for you.

  57. celebrexcelebrate said, on September 20, 2008 at 12:21 am

    Glad you got something out of my Paypal idea: sadly that’s all I can give (another Lo-Cash representative here).
    Congratulations on your marriage! Gather strength from this new bond.
    As for the ominous clouds of the brewing storm on your ex-boss’s not-so-distant horizon….rain in down…hard.
    http://tokyo.usembassy.gov/e/acs/tacs-7113.html
    http://blogs.salon.com/0002421/
    http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9B0DE2D91138F934A15751C0A961948260
    http://www.hofheinzlaw.com/GHArtMeetingofMInds.php

  58. Jais said, on September 20, 2008 at 12:21 am

    I am so proud!
    Sniff, Sniff…
    But seriously I really want to wish you good luck on your wedding. Try to forget about stingy Japan man boss and enjoy man. Then unleash the gaijin within.

  59. Joe said, on September 20, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Don’t let that jerk ruin your wedding! Make sure to enjoy yourself!
    (Then let the jerk know which side the legal system is on. I just hope you don’t end up spending more than your paycheck is worth, because that’s exactly the sort of crap that causes people to think they can get away with it in this country.)
    And if all else fails, sick some cicadas on him πŸ˜‰

  60. oh snap! said, on September 20, 2008 at 3:51 am

    Congratulations on the upcoming wedding Az! Enjoy the day!

  61. Mayhem said, on September 20, 2008 at 7:27 am

    By the time I write this it will all have happened… hope it all went well Az and we look forward to seeing some photos! πŸ™‚

  62. Jonadab the Unsightly One said, on September 20, 2008 at 8:03 am

    IANAL, but my gut instinct says he may not have actually broken the law yet. There’s probably a limit on how long an employer can wait, after the end of the pay period, before paying an employee, and the _usual_ payday is probably not actually on the very last day that’s legally possible. Correct me if I’m wrong, but wouldn’t it be an extremely Japanese way of dealing with this kind of conflict, to hold your pay until the very last day legally possible, without saying anything to you about it?

  63. Beoulve_Black said, on September 20, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Yo Az,
    this little endeavor may make your pockets quite heavy if you get the right lawyer πŸ˜‰
    congrats on the wedding and be sure to post the pics! i gotta see how you’ve grown since the OP9 days!

  64. Randi said, on September 20, 2008 at 11:30 am

    So, I’m interested in helping the Az cause. I’m a student at a University in the states, but I’m a really big fan of the concept of ‘patron of the arts’ and would love help contribute somehow to the Az-lives-a-less-stressful-life fund. Not a ton, but a place to donate somewhere would be handy. I checked outpost nine, but couldn’t find a donation button anywhere. Help?
    (Az’s Note: PayPal to azrael@outpostnine.com Thanks)

  65. Anonymous said, on September 20, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    sorry i dont have a bow like the other guy but i do have a peg leg! we must defeat the evil corporation for the future gaijins!!!!

  66. Anonymous said, on September 20, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    sorry i dont have a bow like the other guy but i do have a peg leg! we must defeat the evil corporation for the future gaijins!!!!

  67. Je said, on September 20, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I know I’m definitely not the one who should tell you what to do, but I think you should find the time to ask God for help.

  68. tittat said, on September 20, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Gaijin Smash/Kancho this guy so hard, his ancestors from the time the dinosaurs reigned and cavegirls hung around in skimpy, form-fitting outfits (they didn’t exist in the same time period? Damn you Hollywood!) and his great-great-great-GREAT grandchildren will clutch their stomachs in dying agony, wondering why they were cursed to wander the earth in such pain. And you will come before them in all your badassitude and dropkick them before lighting their hope on fire. And good luck with the wedding! πŸ™‚ I hope K-san, S-san (if you invited them to the wedding) don’t start crying the set your wife off too.

  69. Matt said, on September 20, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Dude I’ve been reading your blog for a long long time.
    Serve his ass a nice big steaming summons.

  70. Josh said, on September 20, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Good luck, Az! Enjoy the wedding, don’t let this work-related crap cloud it, and give your former boss hell!
    We’re all rooting for you, big guy.

  71. Justanothermom said, on September 20, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I know I’ve already commented, but I stopped by to see who posted LAST NIGHT after I left my comment, and find comments posted TODAY. What are you doing on the computer? Sign off and enjoy your wedding, your family & friends, & the awesome post-wedding afterglow! And congratulations!

  72. fulluphigh said, on September 20, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I hope your wedding was amazing. Well, I’m sure it was.
    Somebody already mentioned making some spare change in this legal battle. I don’t know how the Japanese legal system rolls, but in the states, with the right lawyer, it seems like you could indeed easily come out of a dispute over a couple hundred dollars with a couple thousand.
    Of course, that may be more trouble then it’s worth, and I don’t know if Japan rolls like that.
    But regardless of how the legal things turn out, enjoy your new life together! Make the most out of any situation.

  73. Corey said, on September 20, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    Well, seeing as how I’m a day late, you’re probably at the reception or something at this very moment. So, hope you’re having the greatest time of your life!!!
    Can’t wait to hear some epic ass kicking. GO GET ‘EM!!! Gaijin for life!!!…….Well, unless your Micheal Jackson.

  74. Ivyette said, on September 20, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Congratulations and good luck (looooong time reader, first time poster :))

  75. gumpy said, on September 20, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    You should know as well as anyone, Japan is about “face”. Let everyone know that your paycheck has been withheld. Let your former co-workers know that the company is irresponsible, and let your former boss know that you’re letting people know. While doing everything else you plan.

  76. Genghis said, on September 21, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Hey man,
    I’m an English university student just come to Japan to study here for a year. Check out me blog.
    I just Gaijin Smashed my way from Yokohama to Ikebukuro without paying a single train fare.
    Gaijin Smash!

  77. LordyLoo said, on September 21, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Congratulations. In my experience, wedding gifts frequently take the form of delicious, nutritious money, so maybe that’ll help… or maybe it’ll just barely offset the cost of the wedding.
    Welly, anyway. Good luck.

  78. Headless said, on September 21, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Congratulations Az! Wishing you a blissful wedding and a wrathful Gaijin Smash vengeance on your crooked sllimeball of an employer!

  79. Shin said, on September 21, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Ganbatte ne!

  80. CF said, on September 21, 2008 at 4:37 am

    As a Great Warrior once said:
    “FUCK, SHIT, COCK, ASS, TITTIES, BONER, BITCH, MUFF, PUSSY, CUNT, BUTTHOLE, *BARBRA STREISAND*!”
    (Eric Cartman: Emperor Palpatine with Tourette’s Syndrome…. >:) )

  81. Sam said, on September 21, 2008 at 4:41 am

    γŒγ‚“γ°γ‚Œγ€γ‚’γ‚Ίγ›γ‚“γ±γ„οΌοΌοΌ

  82. Anonymous said, on September 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Loose translation of the above: Do your best, Az-Teacher!
    Wipe the floor with the guy’s face, Az. Not the physical meaning of face- the Japanese concept.

  83. Anonymous said, on September 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Loose translation of the above: Do your best, Az-Teacher!
    Wipe the floor with the guy’s face, Az. Not the physical meaning of face- the Japanese concept.

  84. Anonymous said, on September 21, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Az tear them apart!
    Unleash your ultimate 100x Big Bang KamehaGaijinSmash ha!

  85. Anonymous said, on September 21, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Az tear them apart!
    Unleash your ultimate 100x Big Bang KamehaGaijinSmash ha!

  86. vonbootystein said, on September 21, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Congrats! I recently took the big jump myself and let me say, DO NOT let anything ruin your day. It is about you and your wife, nothing else. Have fun and i wish you a long and blissful marriage!
    btw. I wish you well on your Super double gaijin smash on that jerk of a boss.

  87. PCash said, on September 21, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I hope you will or did enjoy your wedding. As for the asshole boss and the company from hell…
    FUCK ‘EM UP.

  88. anonymouse said, on September 21, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Congrats, Az!
    Now, how long before you finally get a baby?

  89. Jeff said, on September 21, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    It’s not that your former employer is ignoring you; it’s that he’s afraid of what you’re capable of and has gone silent in hopes you’ll back off.
    I say go back to the office and request to see him in person. When he sends out his trained bodyguards to dispatch you, reveal your katana and re-enact the House of Blue Leaves fight from Kill Bill. Show him that it’s unwise to go up against Hattori Hanzo steel.

  90. Danee said, on September 22, 2008 at 1:42 am

    First of all, I hope your wedding went well! Please post pics soon πŸ˜€
    Secondly, I send you my good vibes so you can kick ass, kinda like people sending Goku their energies for that ginormous ball during the Buu saga.

  91. Mukund said, on September 22, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Congratulations on the wedding, Az!

  92. Lindsey said, on September 22, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Az, I’m a long time reader, first time commenter. I think I speak for every single one of you fans when I say:
    GAIJIN SMASH THAT FUCKER!
    Also, take pictures and post them… if possible. πŸ˜„

  93. Ryan said, on September 22, 2008 at 6:02 am

    While the financial issues are indeed quite…well, crappy, my most prevalent questions are: “Will your wife take your last name? If so, will it be in english or katakana?”

  94. Robert Patrick said, on September 22, 2008 at 6:51 am

    1) Go get the waifu !
    2) Go get that mother fucker !

  95. Bad Jokester said, on September 22, 2008 at 7:30 am

    “After the wedding is said and done (hopefully without any hitches!)…”
    Wait, I thought the whole point of a wedding was to get hitched? πŸ˜€

  96. Nikochan said, on September 22, 2008 at 7:30 am

    you should hire Phoenix Wright as your lawyer…

  97. Kurosagi said, on September 22, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Pot odds. Period.

  98. Minion said, on September 22, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Give ’em hell, Az.
    You worked for that money, they need to hand it over.
    And good luck with the wedding.

  99. Helge said, on September 22, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Curse you, Robert Patrick, that was MY joke!
    Anyway, Az, as there’ve been no new postings since this one, I guess it’s safe to assume that you’ve got a freshly minted missus who can call you her own now. Felicitations. Omedetto gozaimashita, and all that. And when you kick your former bosses butt, I hope you post a picture of your size 13 boot print on the back of his zubon. I mean, the nerve of this guy to defy the honorable gaijin smash!

  100. Cosmoscape said, on September 22, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I never, ever ever comment on here though I do read it.
    But goddamn, you definitely deserve a fuckload of moral support. >: Good luck, Az. I’ll be cheering at you from Canada, the land of the frozen chosen.

  101. Nils said, on September 22, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Good luck, Az. Kick that nihonjin motherfucker’s sorry little yellow ass!

  102. Kat said, on September 22, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I agree with you on the Perry-styled Gaijin Smash. GIT ‘ER DONE, AZ!

  103. Xak said, on September 22, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I hope your wedding was great and you got enough gifts to pay for it (or at least most of it). I also hope that you kick legal ass so hard your ex-boss ends up eating through his asshole.
    Screwing someone on the eve of their wedding is beyond a low blow.

  104. Tensho said, on September 22, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    You carry the fate of us all, little Gaijin. If this is indeed the will of the Council, then Gondor will see it done.
    I couldn’t resist finishing off the Council of Elrond quotes.
    Don’t worry about it for now, just concentrate on your lovely lady wife and enjoy yourself.

  105. Yaaka Fett said, on September 22, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    GAIJIN SMASH!!! GO AZ GO!!! GOOD LUCK!!!!

  106. Chad Sexington said, on September 22, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Drop a train on em’ pal.

  107. TB said, on September 22, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    Another first-time comment here (not-so-long time reader, thought). Although I hope you resolve this matter promptly, a courtroom Gaijin Smash would be rather cool. Just imagine – such a smash would become a part of the public record.

  108. Anonymous said, on September 23, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Dude! Does this guy not understand that you are American? That money is the most important thing to us since… forever(in your case after your life, wife and family). Make sure you Gaijin Smash his ass back to infancy.
    Much congrats on the wedding. Hope everything goes well despite this setback.

  109. Anonymous said, on September 23, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Dude! Does this guy not understand that you are American? That money is the most important thing to us since… forever(in your case after your life, wife and family). Make sure you Gaijin Smash his ass back to infancy.
    Much congrats on the wedding. Hope everything goes well despite this setback.

  110. PItmaker said, on September 23, 2008 at 1:08 am

    GO AZ GO!
    Congratulations!
    Good luck, you got your reader’s support!
    Gaijin smash some ass!

  111. Navi said, on September 23, 2008 at 1:25 am

    You want to get hitched without any hitches? πŸ˜‰
    Have a wonderful wedding! I wish you and your new bride and families the best. ^^ And don’t do anything to your old boss that you’ll regret in the morning.

  112. Ivan the Terrible said, on September 23, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I’m thinking we won’t be hearing from Az for awhile. And properly so.

  113. Anonymous said, on September 23, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Give them a gaijin-smash they will remember. Doing stunts like that (withholding paycheck ;_;) should result in being flogged and thrown into the jail of eternal kancho.

  114. Anonymous said, on September 23, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Give them a gaijin-smash they will remember. Doing stunts like that (withholding paycheck ;_;) should result in being flogged and thrown into the jail of eternal kancho.

  115. gpista said, on September 23, 2008 at 5:01 am

    I’ve been reading your blog for years but this is the first time I’m commenting.
    Az, kick their asses! Show them some Gaijin Rage! I’m supporting you and after I get my paycheck I’ll send you a few bucks to thank you for sharing your experiences and making me burst into unstoppable laughter with every editorial you post.
    I can’t wait to read your first book. BTW is there any chance you’ll make a book of the editorials on gaijinsmash? I’d be the first one who buys it in Hungary.

  116. Neil said, on September 23, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Congratulations! We’re all anxious to see pictures, but I’m sure you’ve got more important things to do for the time-being:)
    As much fun as a lawsuit is, I recommend working it out on a personal level. Try giving your boss a call and politely telling him you still haven’t gotten paid yet. Every day. Maybe a couple times a day.

  117. Goats said, on September 23, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Seriously, what I suggest is that you follow the guy in charge of this shit out the door—and once you are off company grounds,approach him and inform him, in very clear terms, you are both walking to an ATM and he is withdrawing the amount the company owes you. If he can’t pay you all that you are owed, then take what you can get in a lump sum, and never go back again. Walk out on the job. This is bs. IT is criminal. But going through proper channels never seems to work, and even when it does, the amount of effort you have to put in is never worth it. Brute force is effective, and quick….

  118. Aaron B said, on September 23, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Az,
    1) I hope you have an AWESOME wedding and that you two enjoy a wonderful and happy future together. Rock that motha’ OUT!! ^_^
    2) Stick it to those corporate bastards that have the audacity to think they can stiff you on money you’ve earned. Wreck shit like a 9.0 and let’em hear the Gaijin Roar (TM?)!!!! Hell, you might be able to get more than what they owe you. Or does their legal system not work that way?
    Good luck!

  119. Stanley said, on September 23, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Er. That last comment by Messieur Goats was counseling you to commit a crime. In a foreign country. Unwise to say the least.

  120. Patrick said, on September 23, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Good luck with the company. I’d sue them, and not only the company, but each individual person from your boss up.
    And congrats on the wedding! (Sorry for the late congrats, but I’ve been buzy and thus unvisting..) Have fun on the honeymoon!

  121. Matchoc said, on September 23, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Good luck with all that Az !
    You’ve been in Japan much longer than I and you probably follow a few news site, but JapanProbe did a serie on taking your employer to court a while back that might be an interesting read.
    http://www.japanprobe.com/?p=3272
    http://www.japanprobe.com/?p=2821
    I hope it doesn’t get that bad. I find that going in person and being a bit insistent sometimes give good results too.

  122. Peter T said, on September 24, 2008 at 12:20 am

    (Long-time lurker, occasional poster here.) I hope your wedding was totally awesome, and looking forward to pictures. I’m waiting for the money to transfer to my PayPal, but as soon as it does I’m sending you what donation a semi-poor college student can.
    Best luck with your epic Gaijin Smash. Mr. Obnoxious Employer will surely remember it for years to come.

  123. Spaks said, on September 24, 2008 at 12:41 am

    It might be late, but another first time commenter, long time reader here. Kick some ass, I wanna see that motherfucker deep fried.
    And hope the wedding went well ^_^

  124. draglancer said, on September 24, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Here is my axe, shield and gun. Make use of it. They are now yours.
    But seriously, good luck with your “situation” Az. May the best come out of all of this.

  125. Celt said, on September 24, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Married huh Az? Remember the two wedding songs then.
    For the Groom:
    “I’m getting married in the morning . . .”
    and for the bride:
    “I’m getting pregnant in the evening . . .”

  126. naojou said, on September 24, 2008 at 8:26 am

    don’t use physical threat. Gaijinsmash, ok, but physical threatening will lead to bullshit.
    look that, if you havent already.
    this is how the police see the gaijin, so if he feels threatened and decide to call the cops on you, you’re screwed
    http://www.zone81.com/arch_news/1030420647324

  127. Laura Black said, on September 24, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    A) CONGRATULATIONS! I hope your wedding was wonderful and that you didn’t let your concerns distract you from your day! I look forward to the pictures ^^
    B)Recently I was let go from a job because his business was failing (in retrospect I can totally see why) and he couldn’t “afford to pay” me. He promised a paycheck within a month AT THE LATEST.
    Ultimately it took over six weeks for me to get the money I was owed. He shorted me $78 and included a letter that said in very clear terms that I failed at absolutely everything I ever did in the office (which is VASTLY untrue — take my word on it). The only reason I think I even got paid what I did was because I refused to deal with answering machines or email. I would call him until he picked up the phone. If they pick up the phone they have to deal with you in some way or another. He’d blow me off and actually he hung up on me once, but I kept calling.
    Moral of the story? Fight! Win! Talk to the boss in person. Go there if you have to! But make him deal with you. Otherwise, I’m guessing you’re looking at a long and exhausting task, and if you actually have to prosecute him…well, I imagine that like in the US, that costs money and time.
    Good luck!! If a physically non-threatening white girl can win out, I’m betting you can too! ^^

  128. Jen said, on September 24, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Go to your boss and say “Nobody makes me bleed my own blood…NOBODY!” in english and then proceed to file legal action. :]

  129. Andrea said, on September 24, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    This was TOO funny: “Thousand years of pain, Az. Give them an epic corporate kancho. Posted by: Adam at September 19, 2008 12:20 PM”
    Epic Corporate Kanch ™. hahahahahahah
    Also, as someone else already mentioned – before legally slamming them, it might be slightly quicker for you if you threaten to slam their reputation unless they give you your money. Tell them that you have a popular blog, with thousands of devoted readers, many of whom live in Japan, who will boycott the company at every opportunity, unless they pay you your due. Give them a quick deadline, and if they don’t meet it — give ’em hell.
    I have no sword, nor bow, nor axe, but Az, you have my blabber-mouth (a dangerous weapon in its own right, heheh). And remember the pen is mightier than any sword, and your words reach a LOT of people. Let ’em know it!

  130. Kliegl said, on September 24, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Remember the “TEN THOUSAND YEARS OF PAIN” kancho you gave out to the kid who needed it most?
    Walk in there thinking of that.

  131. Anonymous said, on September 25, 2008 at 9:25 am

    congratulations on the weeding – hope it went without a hitch. sorry to hear about your evil boss. hope you can at least get your pay from him somehow.

  132. Anonymous said, on September 25, 2008 at 9:25 am

    congratulations on the weeding – hope it went without a hitch. sorry to hear about your evil boss. hope you can at least get your pay from him somehow.

  133. chaosrainz said, on September 25, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Did you just email the info to your boss, or did you copy HR and maybe HIS boss as well?
    Dickwad may have just ignored it but I doubt others will. (at least in normal situations)
    Hope you get it all straightened out.
    Congrats on the nuptials. Hope everything went great.
    Kisses to you and your bride. πŸ™‚

  134. Steeple333 said, on September 25, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Congratulations on your wedding! As a reader who remembers the teacher-Outpost Nine stage, I can honestly say that you’ve come a long way. I hope you and your wife enjoy the wedding!
    As with many here, I also hope you can get all Ace Attorney and give their asses a legal Ten Thousand Years of Pain kancho attack and get your money.

  135. Jaguar said, on September 25, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Blah, I can’t remember my typekey and it won’t send me the info, blah.
    Anywho, its been a long time Az, I’ve followed you since the original OP9, even helped keep ya up in the transition phase, remember I paid for your hosting XD?
    I have a few words and a few suggestions for you.
    Even though I know you’re beyond all the excitement of the wedding now, I’m hoping you’re happy with your life and how things are going. I’m hoping you’re finding your place in the world as you see fit, and I’m hoping you’re remembering, one footstep at a time. As long as you keep walking forward, things will work out. (Onegai Teacher = Lifes Motto)
    Congrats like no other my friend, I’m sure your wife was the most beautiful girl in the entire universe on your wedding day, and don’t ever let that image fade from your mind, and always remind her that she’ll still always be that beautiful, every day, even without the 50 pounds of makeup.
    Quick suggestion, put a donation button on the front page on the right, paypal makes those little buttons for a reason.
    Your world is changing Az, but just breathe and keep walking, it’ll all work out.
    PS: Research the pay thing, sue his ass, become wealthier, and seriously, McCain isn’t that bad.

  136. Patrick said, on September 26, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Oh, Az, I have a good way to make money. Launch a website selling carbon credits. Oh, and set up sensitivity training workshops. They make lots of cash, and anybody can do it (It was even on Penn and Teller’s show. Sure it’s a scam, but it’s a legal scam!)

  137. Chris said, on September 26, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Go Az! I’ve been reading ya for some years now (early at outpost nine) and I’ve finally broken my years of silence to wish you a happy marriage. It’s probably all done and whatnot by now, and I’m sure we’re all looking forward to the next post (whenever that may be, considering your fight with the company/marital bliss) confirming this.

  138. Riley Freeman said, on September 26, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    motha fuck all o’ dat bullshit!!!
    I’m ’bout go over there and make dat nigga pay what he owe!!
    swear ta Gawd Imma rip his jaw bone out his ASS!!
    Imma staple his fuckin balls to the wall.
    Imma rip his dick off,cover it in mayonnaise/ hamster feces and make em’ eat it!!!

  139. evil_tennyo said, on September 27, 2008 at 2:03 am

    Congratualations on getting married!

  140. J said, on September 27, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Isn’t you’re former company a web based sell things in the US kind of place? You run a blog, lots of your readers are computer savvy, I smell a serious hacking/destroy the business kind of revenge thing brewing. Just post the details of their website, let your ‘friends’ do the rest, get working ladies and gentlemen……

  141. Anonymous said, on September 27, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Do what Edward Norton did to his boss in Fight Club.
    Now that’s a smash, even by western standards. Imagine turning that into a GAIJIN smash!

  142. moibutt said, on September 28, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Azrael?

  143. Cait said, on September 29, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Azrael!! It’s been ten days by now. πŸ™‚ You still alive?? o_O I didn’t know wedding celebrations would include that much alcohol! πŸ˜€ Passed out for ten days straight. πŸ™‚
    I hope you had a wonderful wedding and that you received a belated paycheck. Better late than never. πŸ™‚
    Congratulations and all the best from Germany! πŸ™‚
    Caity

  144. momo said, on September 29, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Hello,
    I used to be a Member of Nambu – on of the more radical unions in Japan that has a history of taking action on behalf of foriegn workers. You have probably already heard of them but if you want some more info just drop me a line

  145. Russian Pineapple said, on September 29, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    kekkon omedetou!
    and now about the work thing
    they did that to me. hold my last paycheck in london after working there for 3 months. I needed the money for my studies so I called my uncle (who is just a barman)and told him to call my boss.
    my uncle was rude, angry and impersonating a lawyer.
    “why my nephew hasn`t received his paycheck?”
    the boss face was white when she received the call, actually scared. she called the biggest boss in the company and after the threat of legal measures their bluff fall apart.
    3 days later 900 pounds where in my account

  146. zomgfruitbunnies said, on September 30, 2008 at 4:28 am

    ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH!

  147. MUFUCKIN AARON said, on September 30, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    COM ON AZ…GET OFF YOUR DAMN HONEYMOON AND GIVE US SOME STORIES. I EXPECT 3 GOOD ENTRIES WHEN YOU GET BACK 😑
    P.S. Congratulations on the marriage.
    P.P.S. Tell the wife I said hey.
    P.P.P.S. Don’t forget the 3 long entries…

  148. Anonymous Coward said, on October 1, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Fuck yeah, Az! Congrats on your marriage and I hope that company goes down faster than a…something!

  149. Hilary said, on October 2, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I also had this happen to me before. When I was a teenager working at Taco Bell. I never got paid for my first day of work. I was to sick to go get the paycheck that day. I asked about it for months and my managers kept saying, “I’ll put it in the manager book.” No one ever talked to me about it. So, I’m angry because that is about 64 bucks I never got after all the shit I went through working there!
    And congrats on the actually ceremony. I bet it was beautiful!!! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

  150. Happyforyou said, on October 2, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    CONGRATS!!!
    Can’t wait to hear all about your wedding, and honeymoon~
    Whenever you’re ready =)

  151. Sickbobby said, on October 2, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Others have mentioned it but I prefer that you go crazy on them say, Mel Gibson “Lethal Weapon 1 & 2” or Bruce Willis “Die Hard” franchise style. Old school baby.
    And as a current JET your stories are fascinating.

  152. Anonymous said, on October 4, 2008 at 1:57 am

    just because that guy is black and is in japan it doesn’t means its Az

  153. Anonymous said, on October 4, 2008 at 1:57 am

    just because that guy is black and is in japan it doesn’t means its Az

  154. G said, on October 5, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Congrats on your wedding, Az! Keep us posted on how things go with your evil ex-boss. We’re all pullin’ for ya!

  155. Sam said, on October 5, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I’m going to prefer to believe the lack of updates means that you’re still on your honeymoon πŸ˜›

  156. Kobe said, on October 5, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Hey man, what you aught to do is hightail it back to the bay area, and chill at the great mall for a bit. the asian girls there are so kawaii!

  157. ToniShinobi said, on October 6, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    ι…γ„γ‘γ©γ€η΅ε©šγŠγ‚γ§γ¨γ†γ”γ–γ„γΎγ™οΌ

  158. lolwut said, on August 7, 2009 at 4:57 am

    This IS normal for Japanese companies, it’s happened to me too. They ignored the Labor Standards Office too, so I’m having to sue. PROTIP: If a Japanese company starts fucking you over, leave immediately. Don’t waste your time giving notice, because they aren’t going to pay you for it.


Leave a Reply

