Gaijin Smash

A Straw Most Final: Not Another Teen Postscript

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on June 15, 2007

I’m doing a lot these days, it seems.
Yes, the situation at the school with the other teachers and the VP was bad, very bad. I don’t think it should discourage people from wanting to come to Japan though. Not all situations are like this. And it’s not really something you can say, “Man, Japan sucks!” about, because there are shitty jobs and coworkers in ANY country. As much as I disliked that school, it doesn’t steal away the title of “My Worst Job Ever,” which was a ride operator for a Six Flags amusement park.*
But it is a situation that exists, and it’s not unique to me. One of my biggest gripes with the whole English teaching in Japan thing is how they bring us in so totally and wholly unprepared. If you truly are interested in teaching English in Japan, don’t read stories like this and be scared off–instead, learn from them. If I can help people come here and be at least a little better informed about what they’ll be facing than I was, then I’ll be glad to have been of some help.
Another thing about dealing with bad situations in Japan is, you kind of have to do it Japanesely. Raising a big stink, directly confronting the VP, or even Gaijin Smashing him not only would have made things worse, but served to reinforce the “Americans are pushy and rude” stereotype that many Japanese people have of us. It’s not me losing my American-ness, but learning to adapt to a different culture. When in Rome, they say. When foreigners come to America, we expect them to play by American rules, so for us to go overseas and still expect to do things our way is hypocritical and arrogant, I feel. A baseball club visiting another team’s ballpark wouldn’t expect to bat in the bottom of the inning and have the fans cheer for them, would they?
Actually, when Ms. S first came to the School of Peace, it caused problems for me. She created the English Club, and wanted me to attend the meetings everyday, which meant that I’d be at work for 1-2 hours over contract. Also, while I liked the English Club kids, I also liked being able to wander around and interact with other kids in other clubs. It was fun batting around with the baseball club, or giving badminton a try, or even just talking with the track and field club girls when they were on break. I didn’t like being asked to go to the English Club everyday, but I didn’t say anything directly about it.
The next time I was at the Board of Education, I casually asked if I could leave work a few minutes early. My supervisor agreed, and said that I was probably entitled to it if I’d been staying late at the schools. In a “by the way” manner, I told him that I actually had been staying late at the School of Peace, as I had to go to English Club meetings everyday. I also mentioned how much I liked the English club, but that I also enjoyed visiting with other clubs as well. The supervisor gives me a nonchalant, “Ah, is that so?” and I take off early.
The next time I went to the School of Peace, I noticed Ms. S didn’t ask me to go to the English club everyday. She only asked me to go once or twice a week, and usually made an effort to try and end any plans involving me by my contract hours. This was perfect–I could get my English Club time in, I could still visit the other clubs, and now I could choose if I wanted to stay late or not. As I’d never said a word of this to Ms. S, I can only assume that my supervisor at the BOE contacted her and talked about the situation with her, to which she responded appropriately. In America, going about things this way is terribly round-about, and maybe even rude. But this is just how Japan works. And in the end, it worked out well for all parties involved.


At any rate, the contracting organization knows about the VP. And judging from conversations with some of the teachers, I’m pretty sure the school itself is well aware of his ways too. If they choose to do something about it, they will. If they don’t, whatever, it’s not my problem anymore. I gave them the problem in a manner that lets them deal with it on their own terms, not mine.
And lastly, for the umpteenth time, why postings are ~6 months behind–Gaijin Smash went online in May/June (?) 2006. From then until February 2007, the old archives from Outpost Nine were chronologically posted. While I’m sure this was excruciating for all the old OP9 fans, it gave me a much needed break to finish my time on JET, move apartments, find new work (the second teacher job), quit it, and then find new work again.
When the archive re-post finished in February ’07, I began posting about the stuff that happened from May/June 06 that nobody had read about yet. It doesn’t make sense to gloss over eight months of material to keep things present. Not to mention, this system works best for me. It gives me time to plan out what I’m going to write about next, and how. Which is why I can put up two quality (?) updates on a fixed day twice a week, rather than try to scribble about something that happened yesterday or the day before and throw it up as soon as possible.
So yes, the editorial world is just now moving into December, 2006. Now, if I have to explain this again, I’m going to start killing babies. Starting with the cutest ones, and working my way down.
*If there’s interest, I’ll do a write-up about this job from hell….If there’s interest.

117 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Idragon144 said, on June 15, 2007 at 12:36 am

    What do you mean “If there’s interest”? If there wasn’t any interest in hearing about you suffering, this whole website wouldn’t exist! If there wasn’t any interest in hearing about you suffering, the world would be a much sadder place… well for us at least. Your world seem pretty sad no matter what.
    Of course we are interested.

  2. Neil said, on June 15, 2007 at 12:45 am

    I’d like to hear something about the Six Flags ride operator, actually.

  3. Jay said, on June 15, 2007 at 12:55 am

    Please DO write an article on being a Six flags article! btw, you do know that it’s gone now right?

  4. Yam said, on June 15, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Hey, I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks now (at work), and finally caught up with the most recent post. I’m a little gutted now that I have to wait until YOU post something up, rather than just finding the next instalment. Oh well, c’est la vie!
    I’d like to say what a pleasure it has been to read your posts, and how you have probably enlightened so many people by humorously providing an insight into the perils and pleasures of teaching English in Japan.
    I also hope to head over to Japan on a similar scheme next year, and am greatly spurred on by your musings on everything Japanese. I had to laugh at the hatemail you received as well. The comments seemed so unjustified, ill-thought out, or just plain racist, and the way you handled it and responded was admirable.
    Props to you Az-Gaijin! Hope to hear of more adventures soon.

  5. Mark said, on June 15, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Az, you made an interesting point about “saving face.” I teach in South Korea, and the concept of saving face is apparent here too: don’t do something that will embarrass a senior in front of them. Sometimes, we newbies at this teaching job have killed face and we didn’t even notice it. The cultural barriers are too blurred to notice. I hope you are enjoying life now after this tough experience. When life throws you lemons, make lemonade.

  6. Jason said, on June 15, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Do a write-up of Six Flags!

  7. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 1:15 am

    You will, of course, have to explain all this again in a few months.

  8. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 1:15 am

    You will, of course, have to explain all this again in a few months.

  9. j2 said, on June 15, 2007 at 1:50 am

    There’s interest.

  10. .. said, on June 15, 2007 at 2:14 am

    There is interest in the story of that job.

  11. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Az, breaking american stereotypes by conforming to japanese stereotypes seems a bit redundant doesnt it? and i think some situations merit an in your face attitude, or even a to your face round about sort of japanese way. maybe 2 years ago eh?

  12. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Az, breaking american stereotypes by conforming to japanese stereotypes seems a bit redundant doesnt it? and i think some situations merit an in your face attitude, or even a to your face round about sort of japanese way. maybe 2 years ago eh?

  13. C said, on June 15, 2007 at 2:19 am

    Wait…that teacher job had you doing all the work for in a position you were untrained for, while the teachers got more cash than you for doing nothing. And you STILL say 6 Flags was worse? We need to hear THIS story. Enquiring minds want to know!

  14. Nick said, on June 15, 2007 at 2:41 am

    Did you use to work at the six flags in Vallejo, Marine World?
    (Az’s Note: Yeah…)

  15. vertigociel said, on June 15, 2007 at 3:01 am

    There is definitely. interest in the Six Flags job! The Teeming Millions demand to know!

  16. Ace said, on June 15, 2007 at 3:28 am

    If? That’s like asking if the sun is hot or if you’re black! Of course there’s interest!

  17. deathoxy said, on June 15, 2007 at 3:33 am

    As an old OP9 fan, for me it was totally all right to read again your old articles.
    6 month gap is not a big deal also, but i think all your readers would be glad to wish you luck or give some support when shit happened.
    Anyway, sometimes i check OP9 to check on non-japanese-school-teacher-editorials, and a bit disappointed to find them a bit abandoned.
    Az, you’re the best. Keep going.
    (Az’s Note: I haven’t abandoned OP9. I’m still thinking about her. I should have something good for OP9 soon…)

  18. karat said, on June 15, 2007 at 4:21 am

    there IS interest! =D
    long time reader, first time posting. Az, you inspire me to become a JET, no matter how bad your experiences are. if i don’t become a JET… well… i’ll just find a way to get a job in Japan.

  19. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 4:29 am

    +1 for six flags! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Keep the stories coming!

  20. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 4:29 am

    +1 for six flags! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Keep the stories coming!

  21. code monkey said, on June 15, 2007 at 5:44 am

    So, what occupies your time now?
    …and Six Flags? hmmm….

  22. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 5:59 am

    >>>>>*If there’s interest, I’ll do a write up about this job from hell. …If there’s interest.
    There is much interest!

  23. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 5:59 am

    >>>>>*If there’s interest, I’ll do a write up about this job from hell. …If there’s interest.
    There is much interest!

  24. Gordon said, on June 15, 2007 at 6:09 am

    I am also interested!

  25. anton said, on June 15, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Hey Az, nice one making it into Asahi Weekly!! Didnt believe my eyes at first ^^ Bet you will have hordes of new visitors coming in by now hehe!
    keep up the good work! youre the man!
    (Az’s Note: …What’d I do?)

  26. flpdm said, on June 15, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Do tell us about 6 flags.

  27. Mary Catherine said, on June 15, 2007 at 7:14 am

    Oh, you *know* there’s interest!!
    Maybe it could be an OP9 entry instead of one here since it doesn’t have anything to do with working in Japan.

  28. Captain Canada said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:29 am

    Judging from the posts above me, you can obviously see there is absolutely no interest in your silly Six Flags job. They were all obviously just being sarcastic. Write something about celery. Everyone loves celery.

  29. Mayhem said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:32 am

    Not much left to add, just tell us about Six Flags please! :p

  30. eL Thorsen said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:35 am

    I always figured working in an amusement park must be the most depressing work imaginable – so do tell, please!

  31. wasat said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:40 am

    Definitely write about the worst job ever
    Is it worst than changing and cleaning McDonald’s fry vats? Cuz I’ve done that.

  32. Nidoking said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:41 am

    As long as you don’t mean interest as in “because it’s been so long, the readers all have to write a percentage of what you write”, I’ll have some of that interest. In a sense, it’s your style of writing as much as the content that makes your editorials entertaining, so anything that inspires content is worth writing about.
    Even if it doesn’t have eight tentacles.

  33. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 9:00 am

    You actually had to ask if we were interested? That’s like asking if the sky is blue, or if the Internet is full of morons, or if ninjas are awesome.

  34. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 9:00 am

    You actually had to ask if we were interested? That’s like asking if the sky is blue, or if the Internet is full of morons, or if ninjas are awesome.

  35. Crosse said, on June 15, 2007 at 9:15 am

    NOOO NOT THE CUTE BABIES!…hehe six flags

  36. Sam said, on June 15, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Hey Az,
    First of all, good or bad, I wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading editorials like “A Straw most final”. Part of what drew me to your editorials back in 2005 was the human perspective on Japan, something that really kept me grounded when I began my Japanese culture studies in college. Your’s was the first account I read that was brutally honest about things YOU experienced rather than generalizing and minimalizing the negative aspects like a lot of authors tend to do in the books I’ve read about Japan. I think that honesty and perspective were some of the things that lead me to continue my studies, and study in Japan like I plan to do next year.
    That said, I would love to read an editorial about your six flags experience, but like Mary Catherine, suggest it be an OP9 entry rather than one on here, as it isn’t really related to Japan (I assume ^O^).

  37. Shen said, on June 15, 2007 at 10:50 am

    “*If there’s interest, I’ll do a write up about this job from hell. …If there’s interest.”
    Relevant to my interest.

  38. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 10:52 am

    are you guys kidding?
    have you ever gone to amusement parks and waited on endlessly long lines at the height of summer heat, with bratty kids whining and crying out loud, disgruntled, short-tempered parents cursing you out, and having to deal with this for 8 hours straight?
    and i won’t even start about the line cutters!

  39. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 10:52 am

    are you guys kidding?
    have you ever gone to amusement parks and waited on endlessly long lines at the height of summer heat, with bratty kids whining and crying out loud, disgruntled, short-tempered parents cursing you out, and having to deal with this for 8 hours straight?
    and i won’t even start about the line cutters!

  40. Brandon said, on June 15, 2007 at 10:54 am

    I’d like to hear about the Six Flags job, too.
    And yeah, I agree with whoever said it above me: OP9 looks and feels abandoned. Looking forward to whatever you’ve got coming there.

  41. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Your Six Flags experience is relevant to my interests.
    Anonymous demands more*.
    *I refuse to misspell “more” on moral grounds.

  42. inurl said, on June 15, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Hey Az, nice one making it into Asahi Weekly!! Didnt believe my eyes at first ^^ Bet you will have hordes of new visitors coming in by now hehe!
    keep up the good work! youre the man!
    (Az’s Note: …What’d I do?)
    Did Az make it to the local newspaper?

  43. Blue0ctane said, on June 15, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    Hey Az. I’ve been reading your editorials for something like two years, but this is the first time I’ve commented. I definitely think you should write about the Six Flags job. Being a roller coaster enthusaist, I’ve realized that their parks aren’t exactly perfect.

  44. GringoDownSouth said, on June 15, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    When I lived in the U.S. I was right next to a Six Flags Great America and went there often. The workers seemed so happy, so carefree! Now you are saying that was all lies?
    I MUST KNOW THE TRUTH!

  45. Chela said, on June 15, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    I just love your style of writing. You could write about your laundry duties and I would read them. Yes, for the Six Flags story, please.

  46. Mr. Son said, on June 15, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    I’d like to hear about your worst job ever, if the memories aren’t too painful for you to talk about.

  47. Lacey said, on June 15, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    I can’t imagine what it would be like to be a ride operator. My only experience with them are the vagabonds I’ve met that work the local fairs. Most of those guys were either drunk or stoned, and considering the people they dealt with, I didn’t really blame them. At least being an English teacher, you got away from the kids during part of the day, yeah? There… Eek. I’m desperate for a job, and they probably couldn’t pay me enough to do that. Especially the fake cheer. *shudders*
    Anyhow, yeah, that’s interest. We must hear! Sometimes, I think Americans thrive on suffering (especially others’) as much as Japanese people.

  48. Brett said, on June 15, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Thou shalt write about the misery job at Six Flags.
    Seriously, please write about it. I want to compare with my Worst Job Ever (going door to door, alone, 2-10PM Monday through Friday in a summer with temperatures always in the 90s, trying to talk people into buying overpriced Sierra Club Subscriptions.)

  49. lady suzie said, on June 15, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    there is definitly interest in your hellish job (^_^)

  50. Colin said, on June 15, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Of course we’re interested, Az. And while I have no doubt that Six Flags jobs can be unconscionably shitty (my cousin still tells horror stories about her time there), I feel compelled to ask: have you ever worked as a waiter? Because I spend most of my shifts thinking of elaborate ways to quit my job while gleefully setting fire to every bridge along the way. Many of them involve Greek dressing (because that shit’s like turpentine) and one of my managers. There’s also one that features a Rube Goldberg device involving three giant soup ladles, the milkshake machine, our backpack-mounted vacuum, and an entire bucket of pickled beets.
    …I have a far too active imagination.

  51. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    ah, AZ, you should do a stint as Gaijin Talent.

  52. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    ah, AZ, you should do a stint as Gaijin Talent.

  53. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    significqant_interest_for_Six_Flags_story++

  54. Anonymous said, on June 15, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    significqant_interest_for_Six_Flags_story++

  55. Will J. said, on June 15, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    I’m really glad you posted this followup, as your last entry was starting to shake my interest in JET (which I’ve planned on doing for going on 3 years). Even if things get difficult though, was going through everything worth it?

  56. Wayland said, on June 15, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    In regards to the Six Flags story/potential write-ups. BRING THAT SH*T! : D You’re cool man and I’ve enjoyed reading your stories thus far. Thank you for everything.

  57. Melissa said, on June 15, 2007 at 11:15 pm

    Not meaning to be repetitive, but of course there’s interest! You so amazingly phrase how bad this job is. Naturally, if there is something even worse, it would bring interest. I’ve been a long time reader, but am a first time commenter. I have to say I’m somewhat addicted to your entries. ^__^. Never a dull sentence.

  58. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Az, you’re an internet phenomenon. OF COURSE THERE’S INTEREST!

  59. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Az, you’re an internet phenomenon. OF COURSE THERE’S INTEREST!

  60. Zantetsu said, on June 16, 2007 at 12:54 am

    Job from Hell! Job from Hell!
    Most of us don’t even mind the delay of postings, they always make our day. Frankly, I never intended to go to Japan by means of JET since I’m terrible at teaching… I’m just glad you played it smart.
    Keep it up Az.

  61. Luigi said, on June 16, 2007 at 1:24 am

    I think we all know what the next article is gonna be about.
    *is interested*

  62. hachu said, on June 16, 2007 at 3:26 am

    Heh, doing a single volunteer day at Great America amusement park was an awful experience. Learning that as a volunteer, they were paying the organization I was presenting more than they were paying the GA employee guiding me around cemented the fact: if there had to be only one reason I went to college, it would be so that I’d never have to work at Great America.

  63. Asperitas said, on June 16, 2007 at 4:18 am

    I am definately interested in that Six Flags job, I kinda wonder if it’s worse than my “Cucumber picking job”.

  64. Matthieu M. said, on June 16, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Your job at the Six Flags (even if, being French and living in Paris, I don’t really know where this is) will certainly do a wonderful entry in this great “blog”!
    And congrats for everything you’ve done so far, your writing is really vivid, I can’t wait for your depiction of what you considered your worst job ever (above all when compared to what you endured on Japanese soil).

  65. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 5:24 am

    Please write the Six Flags article…I’m sure it would be great!

  66. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 5:24 am

    Please write the Six Flags article…I’m sure it would be great!

  67. CDStingJ said, on June 16, 2007 at 7:11 am

    I’ve tried to do the type key thing to no avail several times.
    I used to work at Six Flags Over Texas back in 1977-80 but being the poltergeist that I am, the havoc I wreaked there made up for the stupid job. I have stories, but the legal ramifications preclude any public posting.
    I worked as a street sweeper, a ride operator, and as a fireman/engineer on the two locomotives at the park.
    I love your writing and as long as you will post, I will read. I’ve never been to Japan but I would LOVE to live and work there for a few years at least.

  68. Trevize said, on June 16, 2007 at 9:33 am

    There’s much interest ! =D

  69. AMP said, on June 16, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Just a suggestion, but maybe you could add a month/year tag at the top (e.g. Dec ’06) just to give some time context to the posting. That way you wouldn’t have to keep explaining the time difference to everyone every other post. In theory.

  70. MissMax said, on June 16, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Been reading your blog for a while, and i’m making a first time comment to say:
    six flags was my worst job ever too… do the write up, have revenge! lol

  71. Dark Puck said, on June 16, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    There’s only one job worse than ride operating at a theme park, and that’s area hosting/sweeping. Believe me, there’s a ton of interest in hearing about the theme park job. ๐Ÿ˜€

  72. Rorshak said, on June 16, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Yeah, I’d like to hear that Six Flags story.
    I don’t know where your going from here, staying in Japan or coming home to the good ol’ U.S of A, but I enjoy your writings. I need to read the articles on Outpost 9

  73. AS said, on June 16, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Wow this site is great lol. The cool thing is I want to teach English in Japan too and this “insight” gives me laughs and knowledge on some aspects I can expect when I go there. I’m going to put your site on my blog because its one of the best I have ever seen. Keep it up.

  74. Corey said, on June 16, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    It didn’t really discourage me at all (although my last comment might have seemed so), I’ve always been on edge about actually becoming a teacher (mostly because I’m very bad at explaining anything to anybody). And translator has always been my second choice if/when I quit from being a teacher.
    P.S VERY interested

  75. Jody said, on June 16, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Yup….there’s definitely interest here.

  76. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    There’s interest in the Six Flag job. We look forward to it!

  77. Justanothermom said, on June 16, 2007 at 11:13 pm

    Hi Az!
    This is not for posting on your comments page; it’s just the only way I know to get hold of you outside of MySpace (which I see you’ve been too busy for since May 30). I just wanted to share a story that I put up in my blog there, and ask if you had ever experienced this kind of thing in the restaurants in Japan that you’ve visited. Here is the web address for the blog; if you decide to read, you can cut & paste the link and then just delete this comment.
    http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=117291440&blogID=276811446&MyToken=afc1c8a6-340d-4946-8113-3860cce26239
    BTW, I’m sure you have already figured out that we’re all DYING to hear what happened at your Six Flags job.

  78. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    if you can, write about six flags. but better yet, write a book!

  79. Anonymous said, on June 16, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    if you can, write about six flags. but better yet, write a book!

  80. Ihmhi said, on June 17, 2007 at 3:14 am

    I would love to hear about your job as a ride operator at Six Flags… it would be nice to see your opinion on which is more hellish: that job at Six Flags, or dealing with some particular element of Japanese society.

  81. Az's Penis said, on June 17, 2007 at 3:45 am

    Psh, I was the most attractive theme park ride back in the six flag days.

  82. Colin said, on June 17, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    In regards to everyone’s sentiment that you talk about the Six Flags Job (which I already echoed), it occurred to me that the reason you didn’t know if we’d be interested might be due to a misconception on your part. The reason I think we all read this site (definitely the reason I do, anyway) isn’t because we’re unbelievably fascinated by all things Japanese and an American’s experiences in Japan. Those things are probably true as well for many of us, but they’re not the reason we read. I think the real reason for that is because you’re the one writing about it. Your writing style is so engaging, so funny, and so interesting that I’d read if you wrote an entire entry about peeling potatos, or flicking bottle caps out of a second-story window, or napping. There’s honestly not a subject you could write on that I think I’d skip over.
    Granted, we do love to hear about your Japanese experiences. But what gets us is more the fact that it’s YOU talking about them than it is that they’re in Japan. So for future reference: if you ever find yourself wanting to ask the question “is there interest in it if I wrote about ____________,” the answer I’d expect from everyone here would be a resounding yes.

  83. Alli said, on June 17, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    As a fellow ex-ride operator at a Six Flags, I *insist* that you share your experiences, so that I may forward your posts to my friends who absolutely refuse to believe that working there was as horrible as it really was. ๐Ÿ˜„
    Also, I love you. I’ve never commented before, but I’ve been following your editorials for quite some time now, and they’re hysterically wonderful. So, nth-ing what everyone else has said: please, *please* bring on the pain!

  84. Anonymous said, on June 17, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Please post about six flags, I went and googled to find other opinions of the job because it piqued my interest.

  85. Anonymous said, on June 17, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Please post about six flags, I went and googled to find other opinions of the job because it piqued my interest.

  86. Lyman said, on June 17, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Six Flags ride operator the worst job ever? I *need* to know why. Please?
    I also want to know why “Nick” pinpointed your Six Flags… haha.

  87. James Watt said, on June 18, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Sorry about that, Azrael. I’m the guy who did the article in the Asahi Weekly, and I meant to email you for comments, but was a bit rushed for time.
    I’ve linked to it from my blog at Surfin’ English and it’s on the Asahi site at Asahi

  88. James Watt said, on June 18, 2007 at 2:26 am

    Again with linkie goodness, my blog which is linked through my name, on the Asahi site at http://www.asahi.com/english/weekly/0617/03.html
    Sorry about the double post.

  89. Gomez said, on June 18, 2007 at 11:35 am

    Hey your blog your rules, anyone that complains should probably learn that, after all its not like you get PAID to post these things, if they don’t understand that or can’t deal with that then, you know, what ever.
    Still I can imagine how being a ride operator could suck much ass…
    My worst job ever was Deli clerk in a New York City deli, I lasted all of five months before I decided that wasn’t what I wanted out of life. I still bare the scars, both physical (frickin’ meat slicers) and emotional from that one.

  90. DaveJ said, on June 18, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    Oof, I worked as a ride operator one summer on “X the Xtreme” at Six Flags: Magic Mountain. That job sucked about as much as a job could suck.

  91. Anonymous said, on June 18, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Six Flags! Six Flags!
    This means, yes, I’d like to hear about that job.
    I mean, you have little side-stories more often, right? Plus, I think you definetely have a talent for writing about things in a way other people can laugh about it, but at the same time FEEL YOUR PAIN and, feel sorry for you?
    * It’s hard for me to express exactly what I want to say in English, but I hope you’ll understand anyway *
    So, we’ve heard about all sorts of hell you’ve been through, we’d like to hear some more.

  92. Anonymous said, on June 18, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    Six Flags! Six Flags!
    This means, yes, I’d like to hear about that job.
    I mean, you have little side-stories more often, right? Plus, I think you definetely have a talent for writing about things in a way other people can laugh about it, but at the same time FEEL YOUR PAIN and, feel sorry for you?
    * It’s hard for me to express exactly what I want to say in English, but I hope you’ll understand anyway *
    So, we’ve heard about all sorts of hell you’ve been through, we’d like to hear some more.

  93. CB said, on June 18, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    I’ll never understand the people who want to do JET after reading Az’s editorials. I used to want to do JET but then read his stuff and I don’t think I could take my ass being violated that much. Sorry, Az, but you’ve probably turned me off from JET forever with the kancho thing alone.

  94. Prissi said, on June 18, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    First time commenter, long time reader (oh yes, I was a frequent visitor to OP9). I honestly love reading your editorials, Az, even if I don’t get even half the references. Always brings a smile to my face and makes me double up in laughter, and I have definitely been enlightened into how things are in Japan. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Uh, I was nosy, so I Googled — and the article talked about earlier is here: http://www.asahi.com/english/weekly/0617/03.html
    ————-
    Two random technical issues that no one probably cares about:
    – Does TypeKey not work with this blog? I’m not familiar with TypePad, doing most of my blogging with LJ, and it said “sign up to use it here” so I did, and… yeah, it doesn’t seem to work.
    – The comment and permalinks 404 more than half the time, confusing me immensely as to why other people were able to find the proper links and comment and not me. I finally realized that the date permalink was the functioning one, but I kind of wasn’t able to comment before when I wanted to because I couldn’t figure that out. I’m guessing the problem is with truncated subject lines in the links. <_<

  95. rubbav1 said, on June 18, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Look Az, don’t apologize for yourself and what you say. This is a blog, people come to read them not for information but an outlook on another person’s perspective on a place or event. We have learned not to take you seriously. To us you’re just a character in a story. And if they believe your an actually person who they know on a personal level* they need to get a life or just another to leech on. So don’t worry so much of what your comments say.
    *http://www.outpostnine.com/editorials/mailbox.html

  96. rubbav1 said, on June 18, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    P.S.
    NO MORE FUCKING POSTSCRIPTS, PUSSY

  97. Cats said, on June 18, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Uh, I don’t understand. You mean you quit this job you were just telling about…in December? So…what are you doing right now? o.O

  98. Misty said, on June 18, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    Oooh yes yes I’d love to hear about how horrible it is. That way I know just HOW far to stay away from lobs like that.

  99. Gabe said, on June 19, 2007 at 1:33 am

    Az, you have to do the Six Flags story. You have no choice. I dare say you should have had it written up if you drop a bomb like “if there is intrest.” In fact, I Double Dog Dare you to write it.

  100. Jay said, on June 19, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Azrael, reading through a lot of these comments, it’s CLEAR that some people cannot understand the gap between when GaijinSmash went online and when you finished uploading the archived stuff. You’ve explained it quite clearly (to me anyway) so don’t go out of your way to make any more of an effort. If they can’t work it out, some wit will come along and bash it into their skull with a hammer, mate.
    And I’d absolutely like to hear about Six Flags.

  101. RecurveHawk said, on June 19, 2007 at 8:44 am

    I’ve got to read the Six Flags story — I grew up fairly close to Marine World in Vallejo, about 45ish minutes south, at least if my memory is correct.
    Hmm, could there be any jobs that suck as much as any of the following:
    1) Quality control chemist at a pesticide plant right next to a rendering plant in a really bad part of town
    2) MCAT tutor in math and physics
    3) Operating the grill and deep fryer at a fast-food joint
    4) Working with biological lab specimens (urine, feces, blood, etc)

  102. LoR said, on June 19, 2007 at 9:47 am

    After some fumbling around with google translator, I found some proper names and consulted wikipedia.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asahi_Shimbun
    The Asahi Shimbun (ๆœๆ—ฅๆ–ฐ่ž, Asahi Shinbun?, IPA: [asaรงi ษ•imbษฏษด]) is the second most circulated out of the five national newspapers in Japan;
    Nice.

  103. Caged Penguin said, on June 19, 2007 at 9:56 am

    There is interest Az.
    I’m also just so ready for the Gaijin Smash manga =p

  104. Cats said, on June 19, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    Please, can someone explain this gap to me? I’ve read every single article, but never once have I heard him ever mention a gap. =/

  105. Mirrankei said, on June 19, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    I’d love to hear about the worst job ever!

  106. Kat said, on June 19, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Of course there is interest in hearing about your worst job! There’s nothing more fascinating than hearing stories about crappy jobs it’d seem, hehe.
    Anyway, glad to hear you got out of that school. That VP really is an asshat!

  107. George said, on June 20, 2007 at 8:14 am

    I have visited here for the 1st time and am impressed by your words ‘Do as the Romans do’.
    There are posts as follows but are you frustrated?
    Comment by Turner
    2007-06-19 12:49:19
    “I don’t know about putting Gaijin Smash on there… Az may not be bitter, but his stories can lead to horrible misconceptions about Japanese by newbies. There’s no denying the popularity and appeal, though – crazy stuff.”
    Comment by Jamie
    2007-06-19 13:35:13
    “Turner, I’m totally with you. A lot of people reading his stuff get the wrong idea about Japan. But the audience for this article is Japanese people, and I think they’ll get what he’s saying. He gets frustrated, he gets annoyed, but he knows that it’s just the same shit, different pile.
    I considered cutting him from the article. But even with his sailor’s mouth, he’s a great ambassador for us foreigners who live here and DON’T secretly hate it. Seriously, Moeko’s Owl had my editor in tears.”
    Comment by Turner
    2007-06-20 12:51:59
    “Yeah… truth be told, that story was a big selling point for me coming to Japan. I had a similiar experience after I arrived.”

  108. Anonymous said, on June 21, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    I definitely want to hear about the 6 flags job – I am wondering how it compares to my 6 flags experience as a guest relations intern *shudder*

  109. Anonymous said, on June 21, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    I definitely want to hear about the 6 flags job – I am wondering how it compares to my 6 flags experience as a guest relations intern *shudder*

  110. Wasat said, on June 23, 2007 at 10:20 am

    IRUMA, Japan – A 19-year-old woman in Tokyo said she
    managed to escape a groper on an area train by text-
    messaging a friend for help. The unidentified woman
    said that when she felt the hands of a 59-year-old man
    under her skirt, she frantically text-messaged a male
    friend who quickly boarded the train and caught the man,
    the Japan Times said Thursday. Police said that the
    19-year-old acquaintance of the woman not only managed
    to free his friend but kept the suspect in custody until
    he could be given to local authorities. The alleged groper
    said he was drunk at the time of the incident on Tokyo’s
    Seibu Ikebukuro line but admitted being attracted to the
    young woman.

  111. Nate said, on June 27, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    I would like to hear about the job from hell ๐Ÿ™‚

  112. Anonymous said, on June 30, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    About Sigflags: There IS interest.

  113. Anonymous said, on June 30, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    About Sigflags: There IS interest.

  114. Bricriu said, on July 8, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    Yes, yes… Do tell about job from hell… Need my quota of GS, part of my day… Get up, dread going to work, hate work, go home, three women crawl up my ass, nag nag, do this do that, need this need that, you smoke to much, drink to much, what have you done for me lately etc… eat, fend off more requests, crawl in bed, surf net, see whats up on GS, look forward to Anime Expo 200x for my japanofile fix of large breasted asian girls, check to see if I have missed any thing else on GS, sleep a tourtered sleep, repete….
    BRICRIU
    ..
    ..
    ..

  115. Nick said, on July 9, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    DUDE! I feel your pain..I was a game host at a Six Flags amusement park…..it sucked so horridly…

  116. toothlesshag said, on July 29, 2007 at 4:40 am

    I teach, and teaching has a lot of the same problems in the US. Your Vice Principal nightmare story sounds like many I have heard in the D.C. area.

  117. Yaaka said, on August 2, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    I hate the shit out of babies… so I might bring it up again so you’ll make all my dreams come true…


Comments are closed.

