Gaijin Smash

*Cancelled Entry*

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on April 18, 2007

I’m sorry to report that the entry for April 17, 2006 is cancelled. Its not that I didn’t write it, I just don’t want to post it anymore. There’s a good reason why…but some things should be kept private.
Anyway, please check back here on Thursday, April 19th, for the next entry.
Meanwhile, my thoughts and prayers go out to all the victims and families involved in the Virginia Tech shooting. There are no words to ease the pain at such a tragic and nonsensical time.

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brad said, on April 18, 2007 at 1:18 am

    Whatever made you change your mind, I hope you’re okay.

  2. Sam shmidt said, on April 18, 2007 at 1:53 am

    NO! Your sense of shame must go. We want hear everything about your private life. Bank statements, parole hearings, secretly dealt flatulence, trips to the red light district, we want to hear it ALL!
    Well I’m joking but I am disappointed their is no update though.

  3. chewyman said, on April 18, 2007 at 3:50 am

    That sucks. Sam was only joking but I’m serious, tell us all!! :-O

  4. Crowley said, on April 18, 2007 at 4:35 am

    If you didn’t want people banging down the door with curiousity, you should have just posted the second bit. Now everyone wants to know. 🙂 You are ~~teh 1nternet sellebrity~~. Therefore your life cannot be your own! Tsk.

  5. Anonymous said, on April 18, 2007 at 8:15 am

    If memory serves well, you didn’t want to post Moeko’s story at first too, and it turned out to be the best story on the site (in my opinion).

  6. Anonymous said, on April 18, 2007 at 8:15 am

    If memory serves well, you didn’t want to post Moeko’s story at first too, and it turned out to be the best story on the site (in my opinion).

  7. Bklyn said, on April 18, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Damn, I missed it 😦

  8. Kapustiak said, on April 18, 2007 at 10:11 am

    It’s true, you’ve filled us all with insatiable curiousity. I’ll have to sate it by prying into my roommate’s personal life now, for shame!
    Heh. Honestly though, I’m sure you have an excellent reason and I look forward to the next update.

  9. Tia said, on April 18, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Will you post this story at a later date, Az?

  10. Kelli said, on April 18, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Oh dear. I hope all is well for you. While I am curious about your reason for the cancellation, I do respect your wishes.
    And yes, the VA tech shooting is tragic and senseless. What is this world coming to?

  11. Max Wilder said, on April 18, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    I don’t need to know everything about your life, but I hate it when people say “I have something that I’m not going to tell you.” Just skip the date or post the next one, don’t tell us you’ve written something that we’ll never see!
    Cruel!

  12. Kat said, on April 18, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    i took a chance and nomiated this for best humor blog for the Blogger’s Choice Awards. Everyone vote!
    http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/7578

  13. Anonymous said, on April 18, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    How are the folks over there reacting to the tradgedy?

  14. Anonymous said, on April 18, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    How are the folks over there reacting to the tradgedy?

  15. Anonymous said, on April 18, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Sheesh. Some folks get shot and everybody acts like it’s the end of the world. Lame.

  16. Anonymous said, on April 18, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Sheesh. Some folks get shot and everybody acts like it’s the end of the world. Lame.

  17. Dave Worley said, on April 18, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Whatever your reasons, I hope that you are okay, Az.
    Chin up and keep smiling. It’s all we can do.

  18. Anonymous said, on April 19, 2007 at 12:30 am

    YO Az i was online late the other night and saw a post called passing the torch? is that the one you didnt want anyone seeing?

  19. Anonymous said, on April 19, 2007 at 12:30 am

    YO Az i was online late the other night and saw a post called passing the torch? is that the one you didnt want anyone seeing?

  20. DunnDeegan said, on April 19, 2007 at 1:12 am

    I don’t know about Japan, but it’s been fairly interesting in Korea…Since the shooter was of Korean decent, it is all over the newspapers. The Korean ambassador to the U.S., Lee Tae-Shik, has even suggested that all Korean Christians go on a 32-day fast to mourn for the 32 victims…perhaps a little extreme? Other than what’s in the papers, I’ve heard basically nothing. The two Koreans who have talked about it to me are my main co-teacher and the girl I am dating…I don’t think I should bring it up with anyone here…I don’t think they would be very happy with me for mentioning it…

  21. Ihmhi said, on April 19, 2007 at 9:51 am

    You have never let us down in the past, and I doubt that you could do it now. Like it has been said here, you did not post Moeko’s story at first, and that is now considered one of the best (if not THE best) entries here.

  22. Kelli said, on April 19, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Um..with all do respect, Anonymous, I don’t believe that 32 people being massacred should be reduced to “some people being shot”. As one of the bloodiest mass murders in American history, I do think the incident does warrant the attention.
    A little sensitivity goes a long way, you know.

  23. Thauglorim said, on April 19, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    Taking into consideration that you’ve shared stories about dick-dodging, nigh-ass-probing and other weird embarrassing stuff, I certainly hope that your misgivings do not stem from more serious circumstances. Good luck and keep up the good work.

  24. noot said, on April 19, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I saw a bit of the previous post (for some reason its still cached in my browser), before it was canceled, and unless AZ edited it big time after i read the bit i saw, pulling it was a good call. It should not be posted. Its was a bit too much….even for AZ
    Guys, Dont put this into the same class as Moeko’s post.

  25. J-hoosier said, on April 19, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    DunnDeegan, people here in Japan bring up the Japanese student who was shot in Texas some years ago all the time as an example of why America’s so dangerous.
    If you can find a respectful way to bring it up, not just as a way to club people about the head, then it can be a good discussion. I had a great discussion about violence and social customs last night when a student brought up the VT shootings.
    PS – I’m sooo curious now why this post was cancelled, Az. But don’t worry, most of us don’t want to hear about your experience with the clap.
    😉

  26. Asmodean said, on April 19, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Pity that az feels he has to remove a post. That people are so extreme as to take offense and complain and god knows what (maybe shoot people) about things in the world. Guess its another reason to remove guns. Too bad you guys are unlucky enough to have a right to own a gun. The only rights people care to get rid of are those that go for the sake of ‘improved’ security. Of course we all know how guns ‘improve’ security and protect you from all those other lunatics with guns….i don’t get american culture.

  27. Anonymous said, on April 20, 2007 at 12:21 am

    You told us about the Octopus incident, so I’m having a hard time imagining what could be more embarrassing than that.

  28. Anonymous said, on April 20, 2007 at 12:21 am

    You told us about the Octopus incident, so I’m having a hard time imagining what could be more embarrassing than that.

  29. DunnDeegan said, on April 20, 2007 at 3:45 am

    J-hoosier,
    I get the same thing here about Americans in general…There are a lot of bases here and Koreans are not very happy about it, generally speaking. Many people (not all) like to remind me of how dangerous all Americans are (this is obviously not true) because of the actions of a few Americans from years past. It is the group mentality that prevents me from bringing up this subject in a productive manner. My girlfriend actually brought this subject up with me though, and I was happy to talk about it. She is Korean, but feels connected to this individual, although she does not want to be. Koreans seem to generally have a group mentality and stick together, so they label others with a group mentality as well. I think a lot of Koreans are afraid that most people will associate Koreans with the student at VT and judge them accordingly. I hope this is not the case, although I suppose some people will do this. I would like to speak with more people about this from here, but I still don’t feel comfortable asking about it. One of the univrsity classes my girlfriend is taking had a discussion about it, and besides the general sympathy towards the victims, the students thought the reprecussions Koreans would feel would be increased difficulty in getting green cards or acceptance into American universities.
    Anyways, sorry for rambling…that’s a better response to the anonymous person above who inquired initially, and an attempted exlanation as to why i feel guilty about bringing the subject up.
    Do the Japanese have this much of a group mentality? Do you find they have a different opinion of Americans and Canadians despite how similar we are?

  30. Azrael said, on April 20, 2007 at 3:47 am

    Its nothing that has to do with me personally. Its not like I’m hiding some great story that I’m embarrased to tell. I just felt that it was no longer appropriate. Sorry for spiking people’s curiousities, but that’s all I’m gonna say about the matter.
    The next entry is running a little late, but will be here. Please give me some time.

  31. Tia said, on April 20, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Az, if you want the questions about why the post may not be appropriate, allow me to post this link. (And, if you don’t want people to know why, then don’t post this message.) http://www.outpostnine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8584&page=4

  32. Zantetsu said, on April 20, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Don’t you find it ironic people commented so much on a short message? It’s even stranger people are making a bigger fuss on this rather than the thousands of innocent murders happening around the globe.
    It’s a sad day when the media abuses the deaths of several dozen people to bolster their ratings.

  33. J-hoosier said, on April 20, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    DunnDeegan, the Japanese definitely have this same sort of group identity. It’s one of the things that drives me mad sometimes here. That makes it incredibly hard to do certain things such as rent an apartment or sometimes even enter a bar. But to be honest, this mentality’s something that all cultures have. I think it’s innate in all of us, just stronger in Asians for whatever reason.
    From my experience, Japanese as a whole tend to lump all foreigners together, though people with more international experience (or lots of time spent in English schools) usually are more sensitive to cultural differences. Canadians and Americans are probably among the most difficult to differentiate, so they’re almost always seen as one. Except Canada’s safer, and everyone knows about Vancouver.
    I taught ESL at a college in Indiana before coming to Japan, and probably half my students were Korean. They were all wonderful and I went to visit them in Seoul a couple years back. Oddly enough, it was just after a Korean truck driver had been killed in Iraq, so there were lots of protests at the time which made me feel a bit uneasy being American, especially when we drove right past a bunch of angry, shouting protesters and then a busload of riot police.
    I want to write more about VT, but maybe on my blog. Thanks for sparking a discussion with your non-post post, Az, I always feel like I learn something new here.

  34. Defectron said, on April 20, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    So I’m guessing the cancelled entry related to the shootings somehow?

  35. Mac said, on April 21, 2007 at 12:35 am

    Instead of just leaving blank entries, pull your hate mail editorials from outpost nine over for a little bit of filler. Doesn’t have to be a lot, just something to satisfy the masses and make people realize how many non-japanese morons there are.

  36. LoR said, on April 25, 2007 at 10:05 am

    From the title of the archive link on the front page, I’m guessing the original had something to do with your JET successor.
    As a reader, I’m sorry to hear about what happened, and as a VT student, I’m a little ticked off that the shootings happened, especially HERE of all places…

  37. Joseph Grabko said, on November 17, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Given the circumstances, I think it’s even more important to publish the story. Time has passed, and it would help put more of a human face on the events.
    If you could just e-mail it to me, that’d work too.


Leave a Reply

