Gaijin Smash

In the Ghetto

Posted in Blog by gaijinsmashnet on November 14, 2004

Two of the schools where I work are really nice; one was built just 7 years ago. A teacher described it to me as a “hotel” on our way there the first time. I thought it was just Engrish at work again, but it kind of does look like a hotel. Looks aside, the students are all pretty good. There are some rough and rowdy kids, but on the whole they’re not bad.
And one of my schools is in the ghetto.
Well, it’s not actually in the ghetto. It’s close though. In my town there’s an old and new part. The new part is really, really nice. There’s a science city with research and development companies and important national resources. Everything’s fast and shiny and modern. The old part is, well, old. But the real division is behind the train tracks in the old section, where things turn really run-down. Yes, this Japanese ghetto, if you can imagine such a thing, is literally on “the wrong side of the tracks.” (Amusingly, my first apartment was directly behind those tracks.) It looks it, too– old and crumbling, doors that don’t open, doors that won’t stay shut, and broken windows that have been covered up with tape and cardboard. Old. That’s the key word; everything’s just old.


The students, well… the ninensei are all adorable. They don’t act up in class, they don’t hesitate to ask any questions (no matter how embarrassing), and they are generally just a good bunch of kids. The ichinensei are mostly good. The exception is a group of boys who try to be cute by talking in class and making crude jokes. The first time I met them, before school started, they introduced themselves using dirty names. The only problem was they used Engrish, and while I understand English and a lot of Japanese, I don’t get Engrish. They all had great fun while I seriously made an effort to memorize their names: Mr. Sex, Mr. Condom, Mr. Cream, etc. Ha ha. It wasn’t until one of them used a dirty word in Japanese that I caught on. Don’t ask how I know the dirty Japanese words, I just do.
Finally, the sannensei are bastards. I know you’re thinking that’s a bit harsh, but they really are. I won’t generalize- there are a lot of good students who try hard, but the rest are bastards. They try so hard to be cool, which just isn’t going to happen because:
1. They’re 15.
2. They don’t listen in class, bother the ones who do, and thus are stupid.
3. You can leave your shirt untucked, roll up your skirt, unbutton your shirts, etc., but you’re still wearing a school uniform, which will NEVER be cool.
By far the worst are two girls. It is trendy in Japan for young people to dye their hair light brown/blonde and for girls to wear lots of makeup. Okay, fine, whatever floats your boat, but you’d figure it wouldn’t extend to the 15 year olds. Not these two. Golden hair, more makeup than any respectable clown would wear, and skirts hiked up so far I don’t know why they bother putting them on at all. I look at them and just see a waste of human parts. Yes, it’s that bad.
They come to school around 1 or 2 pm, not that they ever make it to class. They just roam the hallways taking to their friends, making passes at boys (who probably already fucked them and can’t be bothered for seconds), and being loud. Sometimes they just hang out in the teachers’ room and swear at the teachers.
In addition, Japanese Jr. High Schools have two rather silly rules.
1. The students have the right to attend class. So, no matter what they’re doing, we can’t kick them out. Also, there’s nothing like detention.
2. No matter what, a student will pass through the grades and graduate. Even if he/she does ZERO work.
Think about that for a moment. You’re 14 years old, in school. You know that you can talk, skip class, basically do whatever you want, and not only not get in trouble, but graduate anyway? Yeah. Consequently, we have a lot of bastards. I consider it a good day when they all skip, or put on their headphones, head for the back, and go to sleep.
Yes, this is a JAPANESE school. Surprising, isn’t it?

115 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 1:10 am

    So I guess you’re posting the old stories one by one? Putting the original dates on there would help a lot.

  2. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 1:10 am

    So I guess you’re posting the old stories one by one? Putting the original dates on there would help a lot.

  3. sloan said, on May 26, 2006 at 1:31 am

    Wow, My best friend did this about 14 years ago ( I feel so old) and she basically told me the same thing. She told me how perverted they were and how the girls were very radical in appearance with the hair and make up. I guess things have not changed. She said there were special sections at the movies for single girls that wanted attention( to be touched) or regular section. She also said that song ” I turning Japanese” was about masturbation. Your thoughts???

  4. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 1:39 am

    I hate to be a whiner but, at a rate of 1 new story posted every 2 days, getting through all the old stuff is gonna take…
    …well over a year, I think.

  5. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 1:39 am

    I hate to be a whiner but, at a rate of 1 new story posted every 2 days, getting through all the old stuff is gonna take…
    …well over a year, I think.

  6. charmee said, on May 26, 2006 at 2:20 am

    I guess you could say that there are “nice” areas and “not-so-nice” areas to any city. Take a walk down Toronto or Montréal – there are some hardcore ghetto areas, but if you take a turn at the next corner, you might walk into a super affluent area.

  7. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 2:31 am

    you just described attending school in nortwest D.C. and teaching junior high in baltimore city to the tee.

  8. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 2:31 am

    you just described attending school in nortwest D.C. and teaching junior high in baltimore city to the tee.

  9. Lin said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:09 am

    on JET too, teaches middle schools too. knows EXACTLY what you are talking about. The rowdy students that bother the ones who actually wanna listen and wanna learn in class is something that bugs me the most. I wouldn’t mind at all if they were sleeing, but being rowdy and in the process bother others is I think disrespectful.

  10. Anunnaki said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:12 am

    Why are you putting old ones up one-by-one and putting current dates on them when they were written years ago? Why can’t you just put the whole archive up (and date them right), and continue to write new ones?
    Sorry, but I really don’t like this whole web site change thing.

  11. Eddie said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:50 am

    I do believe that the first say.. two thirds of the stories were brilliantly funny, very easy to read too. Releasing the older stories like this on a very different website isn’t such a bad idea, but for people who remember the old site and who have read all the old ones already may be disappointed by the lack of ‘new content.’
    Nevertheless, very funny stories. I love them 🙂

  12. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 5:18 am

    I’m going to complain about something that’s already been explained countless times!

  13. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 5:18 am

    I’m going to complain about something that’s already been explained countless times!

  14. Lord Vyce said, on May 26, 2006 at 8:45 am

    Anunnaki – Uhnm, I don’t know why he does it, either. Oh, wait, maybe because these things take time?
    How about you stop complaining and let the man do his thing? He doesn’t get paid for this yet, at least not enough to give it his whole attention. You’re not doing him a favor by reading it. No, in your case, he’s doing you a favor by writing this.
    About the dates, those are probably the submission dates, not the dates the works were written. Now, shut up and deal with it.

  15. Ninja said, on May 26, 2006 at 10:37 am

    I agree with Anunnaki somewhat. But I do happen to like that it’s easy for me to jump to you and then to Tucker Max rather than me going to two completely different sites. I also like that we’re allowed to comment on his editorials, as long as people do not get ignorant with it. Which some people will, that is a given.

  16. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 10:39 am

    For more information about the move, including the fate of the archives, go here – http://www.outpostnine.com/editorials/explanation.html

  17. azzy said, on May 26, 2006 at 11:22 am

    i know that a klot of fans are mad about the change but hey! if it helps you publish your work then go ahead and be my guest!

  18. Past Tense said, on May 26, 2006 at 11:40 am

    I’ve been reading the other Festering Ass blogs. (Horrible horrible name.) They are good but, this may be my imagination now because I’ve learnt how FA works, the editor’s voice seems to come through loud and clear. You don’t need rewriting, so I hope it doesn’t happen to you.

  19. Sir Babalot said, on May 26, 2006 at 12:09 pm

    He is probably doing it because he is drawing a whole new fanbase. I, for instance, am new to this site since I saw the link about the move to Festering Ass. Since we wont understand whats going on, it’s good to re-post everything. Who cares about dates anyway? By new fanbase I mean ‘HUGE’ fanbase.
    By the way, I love the site!

  20. primal convoy said, on May 26, 2006 at 12:20 pm

    Amen. Tell it like it is brother! My first day at the most “respectible” school in gunma was hell. the san nensei kids just grunted at my introduction and one kid threw something i made for them on the floor.
    ironically, the kids i was warned about by the staff, all the brazilian, philipino and other gaijin kids from poor backgroaunds, were all great.
    one brazilian kid who never came to class coz he said “but theyll never let us brazilians get anywhere so why bother at a japanese school”
    when i asled him to go to my english classes at least he said in perfect englsih “if i do, the japanese english i learn will make me speak bad japanese english. its all wrong so why should i bother?”
    i had to agree.

  21. KazumiKuwabara said, on May 26, 2006 at 12:30 pm

    WHOA! Pass without doing any work…ahhh, it’s like a dream… XP

  22. Kelly said, on May 26, 2006 at 12:46 pm

    Really enjoying your stories! I look forward to your future posts.

  23. Phoenix said, on May 26, 2006 at 2:29 pm

    Wow. I’ve never before seen something so cool (the old site) turn so lame (this new site) so quickly (overnight). Amazing.
    I mean, nice new graphics you got there. Too bad there’s nothing here worth reading. =Festering ass= indeed.

  24. STFU said, on May 26, 2006 at 2:44 pm

    if you don’t like it, LEAVE. and stop bellyaching.

  25. Billy bo bo said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:14 pm

    Meh, ignore them.
    I don’t really give a shit about the editorials moving, as long as they’re all back up again soon.

  26. s said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:19 pm

    perhaps it’s just because i, like most people, am resistant to change of the things i love, but i preferred the old archive as well. i imagine this was a good financial move for you, and i respect your choice. i hope that you will eventually change the dates back to the proper ones, and don’t take too long to start adding new content.
    the main thing is that the site has a less personal, less unassuming feel to it. you’re not some guy teaching english in japan anymore; you’re azrael, “internet personality.” it might be a subtle distinction but i think it made all the difference for a lot of us.

  27. AJ Dual said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    Sheesh. Get a life. What, you feel *entitled* to his blog entries?
    Find a smidge of patience within yourselves, and you’ll be much happier people.
    There’s a whole page explaining the transition, and the lag, if you’d actualy cared to look it up…

  28. FMS said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    As much as I love your editorials, I have to say I definitely enjoyed the old format better–easy and simple to read, not all this…well, ostentatious, superfluous stuff.

  29. Raye_ichigo said, on May 26, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    I know you’ve heard this enough, but good work on moving up in the world. You made this change to improve and grow OP9, so I hope this site works out and you get a publishing offer because you deserve it. And you also probably don’t need me saying this, but all the people who comment negatively will either get over it or stop reading your editorials (not a big loss- they’re being bastards). Maybe they just don’t like change or don’t like the idea of you having higher viewership because that means they’ll have to share your editorials with others; those people are just weird otaku and need another hobby. In any case they’re all being arrogant and selfish. These are your editorials and this is your site- do what you may with them.
    And to those flamers: a person is not a sell-out for following their dreams and wanting to be bigger- they have conviction which is probably saying more than yourselves.

  30. codered said, on May 26, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    Unlike a lot of these people, I am not going to
    criticise the move, I think it was a prity good
    decision, you just needed to bash the visitors over
    the head with the obvious of what your doing. Once
    everything gets settled i’m sure it will do fine,
    my only complaint is the advertising makes it harder
    to read the actual content, would be better if it
    was all jumbled at the bottom instead of being so
    intrusive as it is now.

  31. Katie said, on May 26, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    Hey, guys, chill out. Moving things to a new website is tough, especially when the layout is so completely different. Just because you don’t like the change doesn’t mean you have to be an ass about it.

  32. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    I love reading everything, but may I say that I hate this new site? My #1 annoying thing on here? Hmmm…….could it possibly be the ad that is RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WRITING? Heyyyy, you know, that might be it.
    I competly understand your reasoning for wanting to move, but I have a feeling you will loose alot of your fan base.

  33. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    I love reading everything, but may I say that I hate this new site? My #1 annoying thing on here? Hmmm…….could it possibly be the ad that is RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WRITING? Heyyyy, you know, that might be it.
    I competly understand your reasoning for wanting to move, but I have a feeling you will loose alot of your fan base.

  34. Sam said, on May 26, 2006 at 6:25 pm

    I’ve never read the old site, so i cant comment; but man that’s hilarious. I used to teach in china and I agree the 15 year olds are bastards, for the same exact reasons you said!
    However, they were forced to show up, and were smart-asses at it, we(the teachers) had to prepare new and fresh methods every time so we can (somewhat) control them, it was like fighting the borg.

  35. maryamputate said, on May 26, 2006 at 6:26 pm

    ):
    it’s the first one and it’s the last one, the post i mean. i don’t get it. i’m sure the change was good for you but blah. it’s like when an indie band goes for the mainstream and loses it’s fanbase. i’ll try not to lose you but blah.

  36. Kevin said, on May 26, 2006 at 6:54 pm

    You need to calm down people. He is in the process of moving stuff over. Yes, it will probably take a while. God forbid you have to go a couple of weeks without the free entertainment Az has provided you for years. Why don’t you stop complaining, let the man earn a dollar, and be happy when the transition is complete and he starts to put new stories up.
    The way you all complain you would think you are paying a premium to read this stuff.
    Az explained it. He is going to make this much more professional, in that all of his stuff will be edited. It TAKES TIME for the past work to be edited, and that’s why he can’t put it all up immediately. As far as the dates go, I would suspect that the dates are automatically generated according to the date it was added. It is just a fucking date.

  37. T-shore said, on May 26, 2006 at 7:10 pm

    FIRST PART: Anunnaki please don’t ever comment again. IN FACT please go outside, find a bucket, fill it up with water, and put/keep your head in it until you pass out and maybe die. Annunnaki this second part is only for you to read if you only passed out and didn’t die from the self-drowning. Like maybe you passed out and fell over, thus turning the bucket over and all the water going out.
    SECOND PART: Ok so you lived. Now pay attention you dumbass: the reason why there is nothing on this new site is b/c its new and he has to post content. It also means he has to backtrack to get all the new readers up-to-date you idiot.
    P.S. please try to do that bucket thing again. Maybe you’ll die this time.

  38. Christina D. said, on May 26, 2006 at 7:53 pm

    Your old website kept me entertain for many months, so when I realized you switched over to this website, yes I’ll be honest it was kind of disappointing.
    But good for you that you found something that will be beneficial in the long run.
    Reading the last two entries, for some reason there’s something missing. I do not know what…By any chance did you edit any stuff out, or even simply reword a few things? If you did so, I wish I could persuade you to stop. The casualness and the geniune humor that I read in your old entries a few months ago seemed to be lost. Hopefully as you post more, I will be proven wrong.
    Either way, good luck with the success of this site. *Reads the other comments* And hopefully there won’t be too many jack asses pestering you when this becomes even more popular.
    -Christina D.

  39. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 8:36 pm

    I haven’t read any of these stories until the FesteringAss site was put up, but they are very amusing and sound geniunely written. If it matters to you that your old “fan” base has been calling you a sell out, etc. then just keep in mind the hundreds…probably more of new readers that appreciate and enjoy your material.

  40. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Actually i prefer the old site better. I dont really prefer the blog style blogging coz u cant see all the listed title. Plus the old page are simpler and more easy on the eyes without much distraction and also its much easier to load coz requires less bandwidth. Just my 2 cents.

  41. Anonymous said, on May 26, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Actually i prefer the old site better. I dont really prefer the blog style blogging coz u cant see all the listed title. Plus the old page are simpler and more easy on the eyes without much distraction and also its much easier to load coz requires less bandwidth. Just my 2 cents.

  42. That Guy Again said, on May 26, 2006 at 10:25 pm

    Uh…idiots bitching about the site?
    Please shut up for a minute and note that:
    1. It does take time to move an entire website, especially when you’re completely changing the layout and format, and
    2. The reason it’s taking so long for the archives to get back up is because AZ IS HAVING THEM EDITED.
    If you think the process of editing over 100 articles is something that happens overnight, then you’re on crack, stupid, and probably a whore.
    The bitching thing has already been done to death in the comment thread on the first article. Let it be already, pusfaces.

  43. Nikita said, on May 26, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    okay I’m getting really tired of all this whining, this is the second story he posted and people are still complaining. it’s really quite simple folks, you either like it and or you dont’t. if you don’t then maybe it’s time you all considered this very novel concept and STOPPED READING it.
    seriously the comments thread is about what your thoughts are on this particular entry. I’ve been reading from very early on myself and i’m telling you all it is NOT a big deal. GET OVER IT. it’s not like if you pester AZ enough he’s going to change his mind.

  44. haha said, on May 26, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    “Just because you don’t like the change doesn’t mean you have to be an ass about it.”
    Yes, we do. Not only must I be an ass, but I must be a FESTERING ass, as well.

  45. PoonTang said, on May 27, 2006 at 12:30 am

    I wonder if Az gets any kids that act like they are the SH*T in class but actually try hard to get good marks aside from maintaining a good social life in class?

  46. NobleArc said, on May 27, 2006 at 1:09 am

    I can’t really say I like the new site, nor do I understand why you’re putting up each old story one by one with new dates, but I’m just glad to see you haven’t disappeared. Keep up the good work, and I suppose in a month or two we’ll see new stories. Either that, or you’ll intersperse them with the old stories, and confuse the hell out of us, but… either way, looking forward to the new stories. ^^

  47. Lerou said, on May 27, 2006 at 1:40 am

    Well, so much for that bookmark.
    *deleted*

  48. JerkAss said, on May 27, 2006 at 2:05 am

    The change of the website is not only greatly increasing the audience of this website, it is also rewarding the author with money for his great work. FesteringAss is sharing these stories with the world. Deal with it.

  49. Goatpoop said, on May 27, 2006 at 2:09 am

    I’m sure Azrael knows that so many people have already seen the original articles, so all those people would obviously not fall for a lame trick like posting the original articles as if they were recent.
    Festering Ass probably has some bullshit agreement where Azrael has to post them like they are recent. I liked the old site better, but Gaijin Smash does sound cool. I am just looking forward for to new articles. Keep up the great work Azrael! I hope you keep writing about your adventures.

  50. Mark said, on May 27, 2006 at 2:18 am

    Yeah, i’m sure moving text is a real son of a bitch.

  51. visiter or op9 said, on May 27, 2006 at 3:37 am

    Azrael, that’s still you right? By joining festering ass you threw away your INDIVIDUALITY!
    please please please come back! I promise badly baked pizzas and top of the line sushi!

  52. Cab said, on May 27, 2006 at 3:49 am

    I think the move was a good choice. And I think the rest of you who have nothing better to do than gripe should buy a new life because your current one is past its used by date. Yeah, it’s taking him a while to upload the old posts, but as he’s said countless times IN his posts, it’s hard to find the time to do such frivolous things in a country that runs itself like a herd of desperate triathaletes. What he’s doing over there takes massive guts and balls enough to make certain livestock feel quite inadequate (Metaphorically, of course.) A great deal of passion, and the amazing ability to not give a wank about what you think.
    To Sensei… You’re a real gift to those kids. It may not look like it, but the impact the foreign English teachers have on them is huge. I wound up with two of the greatest mates because of a fantastic English teacher they had. Good luck with the future man. Hope you find the time to keep us up to date.

  53. mamba said, on May 27, 2006 at 6:25 am

    I have to say enough of the bashing. so what if he is reposting the old editorials, they are still good reading nad he owes you no loyalty. Az moved sites to achieve a bigger audience and maybe make something from the site, iv been reading the editorials for over a year and i say good on him, he is moving forward and by posting one ed at a time it allows for a much easier way for new readers to discover his work without being put off by having years worth of work to wade through. if you want the old stuff now you can search for it if you were that desperate but dont burn Az for doing something for himself, maybe this will give him some free time to live his live, you know, spend time with the gf, look for a flat and a new job, so i say good luck with it all Az. and keep the editorials comming.

  54. kilreli said, on May 27, 2006 at 7:52 am

    yeah screw all you guys too. Changes happen. Live with it and quit being pussies.
    Anyways Az, do whatcha gotta do. You know you got a bunch of us behind you. Sure most of us arent 100% comfortable with the change, but its not quite our place to make the decisions. Im really happy that you kept the old site though. It still acts as a home base for me.
    I will admit, im a bit sad that it will be a long while before i get my hands on a new editorial, but i guess the forum will keep me busy till then. Best of luck buddy!

  55. Aeikozz said, on May 27, 2006 at 8:54 am

    Hey..Azril… i know this is pretty and all but um….why fix something that isn’t broken?
    this isn’t working… might wanna uh i dunno… change back?

  56. Drachen said, on May 27, 2006 at 8:58 am

    I don’t mind reading the old stuff, it’s like watching re-runs of the X-files: sure you’ve seen it before, but usually you pick-up on something you missed the first time around.
    Az, I look forward to your new posts, but I will enjoy re-reading the old ones in the meantime.

  57. Kelsey said, on May 27, 2006 at 9:36 am

    Hey, love the new site. I teach here in Japan to, and reading your blogs before I came really helped me prepare. Hope you will post some new information soon.

  58. Tomato said, on May 27, 2006 at 10:32 am

    Dudes and dudets, chill. Seriously, modifying this kind of setup is no picnic, and he IS moving the stuff over, if very slowly. So CHILL. Just bookmark the new site, avoid coming for a month or so, and maybe when you come back he’ll be finished. I know patience is a foreign concept online, but come on!

  59. marencian said, on May 27, 2006 at 11:49 am

    Haha, totally awesome. I wouldn’t worry about the losers who see fit to whine about your website move. If you didn’t join FesteringAss then I, and tens of thousands of others, would never get to see and appreciate your work.
    I love it, and thousands more than the whining “fans” posting comments are going to as well.

  60. shappenfit said, on May 27, 2006 at 11:57 am

    amen on the chillage. seriously be patient guys. Like how long have you been entertained and you cant wait a few weeks til things sort out.

  61. RedFiercare said, on May 27, 2006 at 1:09 pm

    Look guys. I’m as upset as you are about this new layout change, but did you even LOOK at what the festering ass network is? Sure, the name sound lewd, but the description of it is that it tries to help up-and-coming writers be recognized!
    Now I don’t know about you guys, but I want Gaijin Smash to be a bigger hit than it already is! Why don’t we SUPPORT Azrael to help his editorals become a bigger hit than it already is!

  62. Jameson said, on May 27, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    It’s sad to see how many selfish people there are out there. The guy entertains you with his real life encounters for years and the momment he tries to reach out to a larger audience you turn on him. Why don’t all of you have some patience and support Az. And if you want to know why the site changed, try actually READING his old site instead of just trying to get your “cultural” fix. Keep the faith brotha, some of us are here to stay.

  63. Kaitenn said, on May 27, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    Well, this will be a while until the story goes onto the current adventures…well w/e
    Its funny how weird Japan is with their students. Here in canada, everybody is basically struggling to pass, while im here trying to get good marks. @_@

  64. Anonymous said, on May 27, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    So at first I was annoyed…
    Then I read what FAN is trying to do here… and I found some funny stuff so I wish you the best of luck. Everyone take a look around here it’s not so bad. :]

  65. Anonymous said, on May 27, 2006 at 4:55 pm

    So at first I was annoyed…
    Then I read what FAN is trying to do here… and I found some funny stuff so I wish you the best of luck. Everyone take a look around here it’s not so bad. :]

  66. steavetheundead said, on May 27, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    i really dont get you people, deleting something thats brought you joy just because its going threw a site change. big deal, its the same storys that made you laugh over the years! and now hes planing a regular update schedual so you dont have to wonder “oh dear lord, when shall i get my next fix of the japany goodness?” so if you have something bad to say… just sit on you hands and give the man some time. im sure he wont let us down

  67. Scope said, on May 27, 2006 at 5:52 pm

    horrible, horirible layout
    why would you want to associate your self with the garbage that is “festering ass network”…
    these are your peers?
    turned into a bottom feeder man 😦

  68. Anonymous said, on May 27, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    You guys are all being assholes (except for Katie & sloan). This guy is giving you a free service. He is not being paid to take time out of his life so you have somthing to read at work. Is it really so bad that he moved his site so he could afford the cost of putting thease stories on the internet.
    In short, don’t be an ass to the guy who works hard to entertian you.

  69. Anonymous said, on May 27, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    You guys are all being assholes (except for Katie & sloan). This guy is giving you a free service. He is not being paid to take time out of his life so you have somthing to read at work. Is it really so bad that he moved his site so he could afford the cost of putting thease stories on the internet.
    In short, don’t be an ass to the guy who works hard to entertian you.

  70. Sparky said, on May 27, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    Heh. My URL is acting poxy.
    Text seems rather small. Is the top graphic you as a demon scaring Japanese people? That is the only nice bit at this point in time.
    The ad with the practice Samurai swords seem out of my price range.

  71. Anonymous said, on May 27, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    once it was about the experiences of an american teaching ‘english’ to japanese kids.
    now it seems to be about money. ads by gooooooooogle
    must pay well eh?

  72. Anonymous said, on May 27, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    once it was about the experiences of an american teaching ‘english’ to japanese kids.
    now it seems to be about money. ads by gooooooooogle
    must pay well eh?

  73. :( said, on May 28, 2006 at 12:51 am

    wow, OP9 was totally awesome and GaijinSmash is totally gay 😦

  74. The King of Pants said, on May 28, 2006 at 1:50 am

    Jeez Az, you any cheese to toss to some of these folks, they might like it to go along with their whine.
    Anyway love the new page, nothing wrong with picking up a check for your toils.

  75. andreas said, on May 28, 2006 at 5:09 am

    it’s about time you start making some money from all that writing! it’s got educational value and stuff! banners ftw!
    /greetings from sweden

  76. Holy Dragon Sword said, on May 28, 2006 at 5:37 am

    I live near a section of Los Angeles called “Encino”, a hoity-toity super fufu I’mboningthisoldmanformoneynotforlove area. The girls all seem to apply the 20 lbs of makeup rule, and minus the fact that the majority aren’t of japanese descent, all of the teens there may as well be carbon copies of the bastard sannensei.

  77. Anonymous said, on May 28, 2006 at 5:37 am

    I read an editorial on your old website about how you had a poster from college of your ideal woman/boobs and how you don’t know her name.
    It might be Monica Bellucci. She used to be the face of Dolce & Gabbana and plays Persephone in the Matrix trilogy. She’s also probably 15 years older now.

  78. Anonymous said, on May 28, 2006 at 5:37 am

    I read an editorial on your old website about how you had a poster from college of your ideal woman/boobs and how you don’t know her name.
    It might be Monica Bellucci. She used to be the face of Dolce & Gabbana and plays Persephone in the Matrix trilogy. She’s also probably 15 years older now.

  79. VZ said, on May 28, 2006 at 11:23 am

    Actually, I believe the top image is him of Godzilla. Hence the trademarked fins.

  80. Eleanor said, on May 28, 2006 at 2:10 pm

    I honestly don’t mind the new site, BUT I’m rather sad I never had the chance to finish reading all the old posts.
    😦 How long are we going to have to wait?

  81. Justanothermom said, on May 28, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    A thought just occurred to me; I can see this site has the capability of posting graphics for ads, but in the body of the editorials, are they going to be able to post the photos you have(had) in your original articles? I sure hope so.

  82. Jahed said, on May 28, 2006 at 4:53 pm

    Haha, all you complainers are hilarious. Azrael moved his site for one reason: to get more exposure for himself. He’s basically starting from scratch, and trying to build a larger audience for himself, a larger audience that hasn’t yet seen all of his stories. So you read all his stories at outpostnine… so the fuck what? When you have talent, like he so clearly does, then maybe you can dictate to everyone how you should release your material so as not to harm the fragile egos of your loser japanophile fans. Grow up idiots.

  83. nenmaster said, on May 28, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    congrats az on your new site, some people (looks above) are a little stupid and dont really understand much about blogging and what your trying to do.
    again congrats

  84. TeflTed said, on May 28, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    hey dude, very brave move, im working on a jet application myself,
    you think of keeping the old archive up too so we can still read the old stuff without having to wait?
    just an idea.
    good luck,
    -ted

  85. Daiki said, on May 28, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    Once I was a big fan of yours, but now… the new design is horrible. Posting the old stories with new dates one-by-one is just stupid and with all the advertising stuff the really nice style of your old page is completely gone. Outpost 9 is still there, but with seperating the main reason why people go on your site from the other stuff… thats a step into the wrong direction. Sorry, but I don’t want to buy a “Authentic Japanese sword” or any of your “T-Shirts”, nor’ I want to become a gaijin smash premium member. The advertising part has become the eye catcher now and the stories are just a small bonus, eh? Well as Katie said before: “so much for that bookmark. *deleted*”

  86. Hest said, on May 28, 2006 at 8:51 pm

    I really like the new site, I hope you’ll get things in order soon.
    Oh, and I LOVE the Gaijinzilla.

  87. Alex said, on May 29, 2006 at 12:30 am

    pfft…whiners. These entries are too good to ignore just because of the new layout and the task of going through every story again.
    The real fans will stay, of which there are many.

  88. Masa the Masta said, on May 29, 2006 at 2:22 am

    I love how everyone tries to be original, just like everyone else on how they voice exactly like the person before them how the new layout sucks.
    Anyway, keep it up Az.

  89. Anonymous said, on May 29, 2006 at 4:11 am

    It IS being uploaded painfully slow for something that ideally doesn’t have to be… But who’s this for?
    Considering most people I know don’t shell out cash for a server to post up entertaining stories for their own benefit, as a general rule, it’s for the people that love to read them.
    Sure, there are improvements that can be made, and hopefully they will be in the future. But the ‘entitled’ attitude is the most annoying, and obnoxious, thing I’ve met on the internet, not counting the ‘cyber sex plz’ chatroom whores.
    I manage a database for a fairly popular international MMORPG forum, and I have to put up with the same thing almost daily. People that not only want features either in developement, or out of our budget reach for a site run solely on ad revenues and money out of the pockets of the site administrators, but they want it NOW.
    It’s a crappy attitude, and nobody should have to put up with it.
    As for the vintage stories, taken as a reposting, maybe I’m imagining it from not having read them in so long, but they DO look a little cleaner. At least, I don’t see any real typos, and to the best of my knowledge, in the past, you didn’t really bother polishing them.
    I’m assuming that’s why it’s taking so long to upload them. Refinement. The page talking about the move mentioned professionalism, so that probably relates.
    It’s a fairly good series, and for new readers, if you stick around, you’ll find that it covers a wide range of emotion. There are even a few parts that could wrench tears from stone. Or maybe I’m overexaggerating. But it’s good stuff.
    As to the specific article, no comment really. As far as I can remember, once hormones started up, people were always especially obnoxious in school, and I’ll second the notion on point 3, regarding school uniforms. Ugh.

  90. Anonymous said, on May 29, 2006 at 4:11 am

    It IS being uploaded painfully slow for something that ideally doesn’t have to be… But who’s this for?
    Considering most people I know don’t shell out cash for a server to post up entertaining stories for their own benefit, as a general rule, it’s for the people that love to read them.
    Sure, there are improvements that can be made, and hopefully they will be in the future. But the ‘entitled’ attitude is the most annoying, and obnoxious, thing I’ve met on the internet, not counting the ‘cyber sex plz’ chatroom whores.
    I manage a database for a fairly popular international MMORPG forum, and I have to put up with the same thing almost daily. People that not only want features either in developement, or out of our budget reach for a site run solely on ad revenues and money out of the pockets of the site administrators, but they want it NOW.
    It’s a crappy attitude, and nobody should have to put up with it.
    As for the vintage stories, taken as a reposting, maybe I’m imagining it from not having read them in so long, but they DO look a little cleaner. At least, I don’t see any real typos, and to the best of my knowledge, in the past, you didn’t really bother polishing them.
    I’m assuming that’s why it’s taking so long to upload them. Refinement. The page talking about the move mentioned professionalism, so that probably relates.
    It’s a fairly good series, and for new readers, if you stick around, you’ll find that it covers a wide range of emotion. There are even a few parts that could wrench tears from stone. Or maybe I’m overexaggerating. But it’s good stuff.
    As to the specific article, no comment really. As far as I can remember, once hormones started up, people were always especially obnoxious in school, and I’ll second the notion on point 3, regarding school uniforms. Ugh.

  91. Feather said, on May 29, 2006 at 4:15 am

    Hey! Gaijin-zilla! I like the pic!. I suppose I can assume (though I’ve learned that assuming usually gets me into trouble) that since you are re-doing the old posts, you are taking a much deserved break from kancho land and are doing this all up stylie? Appreciating your stuff and thanks for everything so far! Much love, bro!

  92. Fallen_Samurai said, on May 29, 2006 at 5:50 am

    Reading the earlier editorials brings back so many memories, Can’t wait til the rest are here

  93. KC said, on May 29, 2006 at 6:35 am

    Glad to see more effort put into this (not that it wasn’t cool before, but the brushed up presentation is nice) and I hope to see the old archives put up soon with new stuff.

  94. Pickled Rellish said, on May 29, 2006 at 6:37 am

    Alright, so the move only sucked ’cause there ain’t any new editorals, but reading the old ones are cool all the same. Great idea on the move though, I for one fully support you on that. It’s your best interests at heart, afterall. I just can’t wait for the other editorials to make an apperance. I’ll have faith in you, Az!!

  95. Anonymous said, on May 29, 2006 at 7:41 am

    I actually like the FA style. It’s nice and crisp.
    It’s Ok to coast a little on some material, too.

  96. Anonymous said, on May 29, 2006 at 7:41 am

    I actually like the FA style. It’s nice and crisp.
    It’s Ok to coast a little on some material, too.

  97. Verenti said, on May 29, 2006 at 9:30 am

    I’m sorry to have to say, I’m going to have to side with the dissenting population here.
    This new site blows.

  98. David said, on May 30, 2006 at 11:57 am

    I am reading his stories for the first time; I don’t care if he’s slapping new dates on funny stories. The point is, they are FUNNY STORIES. Some people have QUITE the attitude toward a man who is giving away FREE entertainment. Yeesh.

  99. Janet said, on June 1, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    Well, I was never aware of your ‘old’ site, so to me all of your work is new. New, and very, very good. 🙂 Thanks for keeping me entertained.

  100. Matt said, on June 2, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    I’d heard that “I think I’m turning Japanese” was a reference to the face made during orgasm, so close with masturbation, but maybe it’s one of those things you can never know for definite.
    I’d have to agree that giving old posts new dates sucks, you should be able to backdate it, but I’m not going to agree with the asshole behaviour of deleting bookmarks and getting angry at you here. Moving a website is a lot of work; further to that, this is your website, not theirs. Reading these posts are not a right, they’re a privilege. I’ll still be reading when you’re ready, anyway.

  101. visitor said, on June 4, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    We have those two rules here in Norway as well, no detention either. It works well enough, IMO.
    Btw, I don’t mind the move. The banner pic is awesome.

  102. Tiffany said, on June 5, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    Hehe. Hi, I just found your site through someone else…sorry that everyone is b***ching about yoru site being down, but I’m enjoying reading the “old” stuff. If I haven’t read it, it’s new to me! Weird that Japanese teens act so unruly. I thought they were so straight-laced and serious about school and thus the smartest kids on earth. Shame.

  103. Cherrypink said, on June 8, 2006 at 8:23 am

    Lol, not like my school…. dying your hair, wearing cosmetic products, skirt above your knee, wearing any hair accesories other than colours of blue, black and brown, wearing earrings more than 0.5cm in diameter, bringing hnadphones to school, not tying your hair, not wearing a camisole etc.etc….all of’em are serious offences. Get a warning three times and you’re out of the school for good. Yup, Malaysian schools are more than illogically strict.

  104. Citizen said, on June 19, 2006 at 12:26 am

    Well, this is all new to me. I’ve read all the current entries today and look forward to the old ones. I’ll check the internet archives later. I knew that Japan had its own issues, but you certainly give an interesting impression that throws into question how their society functions at all. But cancel that, this is middle school we’re talking about…
    .. But still… ^__^

  105. Rio said, on June 21, 2006 at 7:52 pm

    Holy crapshit.
    What I’d love more than anything else, is the chance to visit a Japanese school for a week or so. Sounds like a great “learning experience”. I can’t wait to tell all my friends about this…

  106. AitrusTekis said, on June 22, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    Eh I know Im putting a late post on here… just wanted to give my support. Your stories are awesome. I just got back from Japan a few weeks ago and am actually looking into the JET program as well… But I love the stories, and just ignore the jerks. If they wanna be ‘baka’ then let ’em. If they wanna act like your sannensei then give em the thousands years of pain kancho! haha

  107. Anonymous said, on July 10, 2006 at 1:15 am

    I’m a new fan and thankful to be.Congrads Az,thanks for everything! Consider this Bookmarked. The site is all the better for the whinners jumping ship!

  108. Anonymous said, on July 10, 2006 at 1:15 am

    I’m a new fan and thankful to be.Congrads Az,thanks for everything! Consider this Bookmarked. The site is all the better for the whinners jumping ship!

  109. Romanticide said, on August 5, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    once I saw in a Magazine an article about gal circles, they had a picture of one… oh the horror!!! >..< Also the tons of makeup they wear doesn’t help… at all

  110. DyobolikaL said, on August 19, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    Wow I thought the schools were strick. Maybe that’s China, but these kids need ass whoopings with bamboos.

  111. Anonymous said, on October 25, 2006 at 1:10 am

    dont complain till youve tought in the ATL

  112. Anonymous said, on October 25, 2006 at 1:10 am

    dont complain till youve tought in the ATL

  113. YJ said, on November 26, 2006 at 1:20 am

    Actually, I can pretty much imagine it’s like that in Japan. I’ve seen GTO live action, so I have an idea about that. For most of them, school is something for hanging out, not a neccessity unlike it is in other countries. If you want to pass to a higher level, for example, taking the senior high school entrance exams, they have cram schools. Cram schools are basically the big earners when it comes to getting a youth through the next level in the educational system. And since they’re all in Jr. High, they don’t feel the pressure as much unless they plan to get into a good university.

  114. Joyce said, on January 10, 2007 at 12:46 am

    I went to school in Japan for the first and second grade. After one of the swimming lessons, a boy ran into the classroom where we(girls) were changing and
    dropped his swim boxers………… my friend: ” DON’T LOOK!” ….lol….. =-=’

  115. general sugary poenis said, on September 1, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    doode you are doubtlessly L33T in ways i can not describe with out the aid of numbers, but why the gay format? sorry but i mean havin to go to a separate page for the archive even after i just read an archived rant is a little bit on the fudge packin side.


Comments are closed.

